Collection Development Policy

[by Ayako Yoshimura, October 12, 2024]

History

Materials for Japanese studies have been collected since the early years of the University. The collection grew under the stewardship of specialist librarians such as Kenneth Kazuo Tanaka and Eizaburō Okuizumi.

Broad subject areas emphasized & de-emphasized

The Japanese Studies Collection focuses mostly on fields in the social sciences and humanities such as literature, history, art history, cinema/media studies/performing arts, religious studies and philosophy, anthropology, and sociology—but does not exclude such subjects as science, the history of science, Japan in international relations (political science and business), and law.

Description of academic programs supported by the collection

For the various academic programs with associated Japanese-studies faculty, see the page for the Center for East Asian Studies Committee on Japanese Studies.

Users supported by the collection

The collection supports research and teaching in Japanese studies across disciplines and academic programs. While the collection primarily supports students and faculty at the University of Chicago, as one of the main academic collections of Japanese studies in North America it also supports scholars beyond campus through inter-library loans, and welcomes independent researchers to use the collection on site. Researchers are highly encouraged to contact the Japanese studies librarian for further assistance. 

Collecting Guidelines
Levels of selection: for a description of these levels, see the general policy statement.

Materials pertinent to Japanese studies are found in all Library of Congress Classifications. The list below merely highlights selected subject headings. Researchers are highly encouraged to contact the Japanese studies librarian for further assistance. 

A: General works (including but not limited to: Collections: AC; Newspapers: AN; Periodicals: AP)

Research level

B: Philosophy (B1–5802), Psychology (BF1–990), Religion (including but not limited to: Religion in Japan: BL2195–2228; Shinto: BL2216–2227.8; Buddhism: BQ1–9999)

In addition to materials pertinent to philosophy, psychology, and religion in Japan, general theories and other topics are also acquired at the research level.

C: Auxiliary sciences of history (including but not limited to: Biography: CT)

Basic information level

D: History (including but not limited to: History of Asia: DS1–937; History of Japan: DS801–897)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

E–F: History of the United States (including but not limited to: U.S.-Japan Foreign Relations: E183.8.J3; Japanese Americans: E184.J3; Japanese in Chicago: F548.9.J3)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

G: Geography, Anthropology, Folklore, Recreation (including but not limited to: Geography, Maps, etc. of Japan: G7960–7984; Anthropology: GN1–890; Folklore in Japan: GR339–341)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

H: Social Sciences (including but not limited to: Social History and Conditions in Japan: HN721–730)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

J: Political Science (including but not limited to: Political Institutions and Administration in Japan: JQ1600–1699)

Basic information level

K: Law (including but not limited to: Law in Japan: KNX–KNY)

Basic information level

L: Education (including but not limited to: History of Education in Japan: LA1310–1319; Individual Institutions in Japan: LG240–277)

Basic information level

M: Music (including but not limited to: Folk Music of Japan: M1812; History and Criticism of Music in Japan: ML340–340.9; History and Criticism of Popular Music in Japan: ML3501–3501.8; History and Criticism of Folk, National, and Ethnic Music in Japan: ML3750–3750.9)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

N: Fine arts (including but not limited to: Visual art in Japan: N7350–7359.6; History of Architecture in Japan: NA1550–1593; History of Painting in Japan: ND1050–1059.6; Ukiyoe prints: NE1310–1326.5; Decorative Art in Japan: NK1071–1073)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

P: Language, Literature, Films (including but not limited to: Japanese Language: PL501–699; Japanese Literature: PL700–889; History of Motion Pictures in Japan: PN1993.5.J3; Theater in Japan: PN2920–2928)

Various subjects are acquired at the research level.

Q–V: Science, Medicine, Agriculture, Technology, Military Science, Naval Science

Basic information level

Z: Bibliography, etc.

Basic information level

Type of materials included and excluded

No strict limits. Researchers are highly encouraged to contact the Japanese studies librarian. 

Physical formats included and excluded

No strict limits, although emphasis is on print materials. Microforms, CD-ROMs, CDs, and DVDs are acquired only selectively. Researchers are highly encouraged to contact the Japanese studies librarian. 

Publication dates collected

No particular limits.

Languages

Materials are collected in all languages, with priority given to Japanese and English.

Geographical range

No particular limits, although the emphasis tends to be on Japan and on Japan and Japanese in relation to other geographical areas.

Chronological span

No particular limits.

Related University of Chicago collections

A large portion of the Japanese studies collection is part of the East Asian Collection. Rare materials and archival materials pertinent to Japanese studies are housed in The Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center. Researchers with inquiries are highly encouraged to contact the Japanese studies librarian. 

Cooperative arrangements and related collections

Subscriptions to e-resources in Japanese are mostly based on consortial agreements.