Medicine

• ABMS Board Certification Report The official list of the specialty and subspecialty certificates approved by ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists), the number of new specialty and subspecialty certificates issued in the last 10 years, and the distribution of board certified physicians and medical specialists (known as diplomates) by ABMS Member Board, specialty, and state.
   
• Directory of Residency and Fellowship Programs in Women's Health The Directory was developed to foster increased public and health care professional awareness about established programs in the expanding field of postgraduate training in women’s health.
   
• ERAS - Electronic Residency Application Service ERAS is a service which transmits residency applications, letters of recommendation, Dean's Letters, transcripts, and other supporting credentials from medical schools to residency program directors using the Internet. Maintained by the AAMC (American Association of Medical Colleges).
   
• FREIDA Online (Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database Access) FREIDA Online is a database containing information on approximately 7,500 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and 200 combined specialty programs. A list of these programs is printed annually in the AMA's Graduate Medical Education Directory located at Crerar Reference, floor 1 R840.D591. Informally known as the "Green Book."
   
• Internal Medicine Residency Database Maintained by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.
   
• Medical Schools of the U.S. and Canada Maintained by the AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges).
   
• National Resident Matching Program The Official Cooperative Plan for Appointments to Graduate Medical Education.
   

• Residency Directory Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Interactive directory of emergency medicine residency programs in the U.S.  Provides detailed information on programs.

• Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Postgraduate Education. The College sets the criteria for the designation of a specialty; develops and defines the educational objectives and national standards for medical, laboratory and surgical specialties; accredits the specialty training programs and conducts examinations for certificates of qualification in medical, laboratory and surgical specialties and subspecialties.

• Strolling through the Match: A Medical Students Guide. The what, where when, why, how of residency. Includes information on ERAS; by the American Academy of Family Physicians.
  • Fellowship Directory for Family Physicians This directory is produced by the American Academy of Family Physicians in cooperation with the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

• Transitional Year Program Directory (PDF) This on-line directory provides information on the vast majority of Transitional Year Residency programs. The information is collected by the Council of Transitional Year Program Directors. 

• U.S.News & World Report: America's Best Graduate Schools
  How accurate are these rankings?
  • Read the report by the National Opinion Research Center commissioned by U.S. News and World Report in 1997.
  • Marguerite Clarke Boston College Citation: Clarke, M. (2002, March 20). Quantifying Quality: What can the U.S. News and World Report rankings tell us about the quality of higher education? Education Policy Analysis Archives, 10(16).

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 154
773-702-8552
Email Deb