Library Guides: Medicine: Books

Primary E-Books

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is an online resource that contains the latest editions of clinical medicine texts, such as Harrisons Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment Online, and Schwartzs Principles of Surgery Online. It also offers the Lange Basic Science and Lange Current Clinical Science Series for on-going study, review, and reference. In addition, it has the USMLEasy self-assessment tool, a drug index, an image index, the differential diagnosis tool Diagnosaurus, Current Practice Guidelines, diagnostic tests, and patient education information.

Books@Ovid
& more less...
Books@Ovid provides online access to e-books through the Ovid interface. Besides searching within the books, browse by title and by subject is also available.
LWW Health Library
& more less...
LWW Health Library includes:
• Lippincott reference and textbooks arranged by specialty with separate sections for Board Review, Clerkships, and Medical Education
• Video clips of techniques, procedures, and physiological processes
• Multiple-choice Q&A to gauge performance and target areas for remediation
• Regular content updates as new book editions publish or ancillary content is acquired/updated
• Content that is sharable with classmates and colleagues
• Downloadable book chapters for note taking or to print
• Integration with Ovid MEDLINE®

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Allows full-text searching of Springer-Verlag electronic resources, including thousands of electronic books in a wide variety of subjects. Includes most books published from 2005 and titles in book series from 1997. This database includes books, book chapters, and journal articles; search results can be limited by type of resource, author, subject, language, and publication date.

Additional E-Books

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year in science, engineering, and health, capturing views on important issues in science and health policy.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
The Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Dictionaries

Additional dictionaries and encyclopedias are available through Credo Reference and Oxford Reference Online.

Contact Information

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 154
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Searching for Books

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
--Search a topic.
--Limit the Format to 'Book' or 'Ebook'.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
--Searches the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world.
--Click on Find It! to request the book.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.

Find Books in Crerar

Once you've found the call number of the book you want, use the Find Print Books Guide to locate biomedical books in the Crerar Library. Use the Library Catalog to find a call number.