Linguistics

Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Linguistics

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.

Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects

Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Oxford Handbooks in Linguistics bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in linguistics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The University of Chicago has subscribed to the LDC since 2001, and we have access to all of the corpora from 2001-present.. To determine which corpora are available for downloading:
-Register with LDC as an authorized University of Chicago user and wait for email confirmation
- On the LDC web site, click the members tab
- Click the intranet link and log-in
- Click on corpora available for download link to determine which are available to University of Chicago users.
The Linguistic Data Consortium is an open consortium of universities, companies and government research laboratories. It creates, collects and distributes speech and text databases, lexicons, and other resources for research and development purposes. The University of Pennsylvania is the LDC's host institution.

"These are the most widely used online corpora, and they are used for many different purposes by teachers and researchers at universities throughout the world. In addition, the corpus data (e.g. full-text, word frequency) has been used by a wide range of companies in many different fields, especially technology and language learning."

A corpus manager and text analysis software that contains 600 ready-to-use corpora in 90+ languages. See the list of text corpora

Access Mango Languages online or through free mobile apps for iPhone and Android.
Similar to Rosetta Stone, Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches conversation skills in more than 50 languages including Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and English.