Library Guides: Find Articles in Business and Economics: Articles in Trade Journals

Why Trade Journals

Trade journals are aimed at professionals working in an industry. They can be excellent tools for background information on industry conditions and key players. This is true for current and historical research, many of the sources covered go back into the 1980's.

Databases with Trade Journals

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Has the broadest coverage and includes many publications from outside the United States. You can use the source browse to limit by industry, but that may miss related articles.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Not as many publications as Factiva, but does include subject indexing, so it's easier to narrow a search. Limit to trade journals under source type on a results list.
Contains business-focused content from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes many trade journals, but you need to perform a search and then limit to News --> trade press
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This primarily has citations to trade journals, but does include the full text of many that aren't included in other sources.
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available. Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.