Library Guides: Find Articles in Business and Economics: Cited Reference Searching

Databases for Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching is finding articles that cite a particular author, article, or book. A high number of citations can be a good indicator of an article's impact on its discipline

Many of our databases now include links to articles which have cited an article, but that is often only other articles in that database. Web of Science and Scopus have a broader scope and allow you find articles from unrelated disciplines which have cited an article or author.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is the oldest citation database and includes social sciences and humanities content. It shows which articles have cited an article and also allows you to find articles that share references.
Author names may be abbreviated, it is best to search using Last Name, First Initial *
Example: Fama E*
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a newer database, so its coverage of articles is best from 1997 forward. It includes older content, but it can be spotty.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.