Library Guides: Find Articles in Business and Economics: Articles in Academic Journals

Scholarly Articles

These databases are the most comprehensive for finding articles in academic journals. Each has specific strengths, which we have highlighted.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Best source for marketing and general management articles. It includes a lot of other content, check the Peer Reviewed box on the search screen to limit your search.
Article database that indexes academic journals, trade publications, newspapers and magazines in business and economics. Full text is often available.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers research in economics, finance and accounting.
EconLit indexes articles from economics journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. It is a very good source for empirical studies on economics and finance.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR allows searching of fulltext back to the beginning of major journals. It does not have easy ways to filter, so it is less useful as a starting point.
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

These databases cover disciplines beyond business and economics. They are best for searches that might cross over into other areas, such as research in operations management.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Best for articles from the late 1990's forward
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers some journals as far back as 1900.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Find It

Many of our databases include the full text of an article. We have our Find It service to get you to an article in cases where there is only a citation. Look for this button in your results:

Click that to launch the Find It service. That will give you these options

Link you to the article at the publisher or in another database if it is available.
Link to our Scan & Deliver service when we have something in print but not online.
If we do not have access, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request and receive a copy as a PDF in just a few days.

Search Strategies

Article databases have many features that make finding relevant articles easier. These are some examples, explore the advanced search page in a database to see other ways.

Subject Headings
- These describe what an article is about. These may not match your keywords, look at a few articles to identify relevant subjects,
Date Limits
- An easy way to find the most recent research or dig into the oldest
Article Type
- Useful for finding book reviews
Geography
- Useful for limiting to research done in specific regions.