Quick Links
- ATLA Religion Database
- Old Testament Abstracts
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
- Oxford Reference Online
- WorldCat
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
- SBL Handbook of Style Student Supplement
- New AcquisitionsSelect month, subject and subarea. Note, this list includes gifts to the Library.
News about the Bible Collection
News: The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library and the Center for Jewish Studies are offering new fellowships, with awards of $1500, to support scholars, students, and independent researchers whose work would benefit from access to the Judaica materials held by the Rubenstein Library, the Duke Divinity School Library, and/or Perkins Library.
Featured Acquisition: New journal, Hebrew Bible and Ancient Israel (HeBAI). This journal is on order and will be available in electronic format by March 2013. Access the first issue at the Mohr Siebeck website.
New Acquisitions Select month, subject and area. Note, this list includes gifts to the Library.
Welcome to the Hebrew Bible Guide

Please use the tabs across the top of this guide to find out more about the resources we offer.
One can learn more about a resource by clicking on the blue information button
.
About the Collection
The field of biblical studies has been an integral part of the University of Chicago since its founding in 1892. William Rainey Harper, the first president of the University, was a distinguished scholar of the Hebrew Bible. Thus, from its beginnings the Library's collections have included a focus on biblical scholarship. Throughout the years, the collection was strengthened to support the teaching and scholarship of many other noted biblical scholars who taught at the University. Today, the library's collection in biblical studies includes thousands of print books and journals, as well as numerous electronic resources.
In addition, a rich array of rare books, manuscripts, and archival sources for research and teaching in biblical studies is available in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). The SCRC houses the American Bible Union Collection and the Maurice T. Grant Collection of English Bibles. Most notable among the manuscript collections is the Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection. Thanks to a generous grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, most of the manuscripts in this collection have been digitized. Archival collections such as the papers of William Rainey Harper, Ira M. Price, Ernest DeWitt Burton, and Edgar J. Goodspeed document the careers of these important biblical scholars. The SCRC also houses the records of some important organizations, including the American Institute of Sacred Literature and the Divinity School's New Testament Club.
Library News: Humanities & Social Sciences
Loading...
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Religion & Philosophy |


Loading...
