Quick Links
- ABSEESAmerican Bibliography for Slavic & East European Studies
- Armed Conflict Database (International Institute for Strategic Studies)
- CEEOLCentral and East European Online Library
- Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
- Guides to Russian Archives / ПУТЕВОДИТЕЛИ ПО АРХИВАМ РОССИИ
- International Dostoevsky Bibliography 1985-2007
- Izvestiia Digital Archive
- JSTOR
- Legislationline: Criminal Codes
- Medieval Slavic Documents
- Pravda Digital Archive
- RefWorks
- RIBK / РИБК
- Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
- RUSSIAN LITERATURE LIBGUIDE (University of Chicago)
- Universal Database of Publications from Central Asia
- Universal Database of Russian Newspapers
Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies at the University of Chicago
- CEERESCenter for East European and Russian/Eurasian Studies
- Center for International Studies
- Center for Middle Eastern Studies
- Committee on Central Eurasian Studies (University of Chicago)
- Committee on Jewish Studies
- Department of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations
- Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures
- Fifth Annual Meeting of the Slavic Linguistic Society
OTHER LIBGUIDES OF INTEREST
Transliteration of Non-Latin Alphabets
In the University of Chicago online catalog and LENS, in WorldCat and many other databases, as well as the online catalogs of most other North American research libraries, Cyrillic alphabets are transliterated into Latin characters using the Library of Congress transliteration tables, which vary slightly from language to language. Even though there are many transliteration schemes available, to obtain accurate and complete search results when using these databases, you must use Library of Congress transliteration.
- Library of Congress Transliteration Tables for Cyrillic AlphabetsSlavic Languages (Russian, Belarusian, Serbian, Macedonian, Ukrainian, Bulgarian)
Non-Slavic Cyrillic Languages (Azerbaijani, Kazakh, Moldovan, Tajik, Tatar, Turkmen, Uzbek) - TRANSLIT.RU
- GOOGLE TRANSLITERATION
Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies Collections at the University of Chicago Library

The Slavic and East European collections contain over 588,500 volumes on Russia and the Soviet Union, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, as well as the countries of Eastern Europe, including Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia and Macedonia. The collections, which are accessed through the Library's Horizon Catalog and LENS browser, include material from all disciplines of the humanities and social sciences and in all of the vernacular languages of these geographic areas. The collections are especially strong in Slavic philology and linguistics, Russian and other Slavic literatures, history, economics, political science, geography, and the history of religions. The Slavic Reference Collection, numbering over 7,500 volumes, is located at the east end of the Second Floor Reading Room (RR2S), and includes a wide selection of specialized bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, serial indexes, library catalogs, archival guides and other research aids.
CHANGES FOR THE SLAVIC REFERENCE COLLECTION AND THE HISTORY COLLECTIONS IN REGENSTEIN BOOKSTACKS
As part of the general reconfiguration of the Regenstein reading rooms, the Slavic Reference Collection has been moved. It is now located in the eastern section of the 4th Floor Reading Room of Regenstein Library (a change from its previous location in the front center aisle). The 2nd and 3rd floor reading rooms now house a General Reference Collection in one A-Z Library of Congress classification (a merging of the various Humanities and Social Sciences reference materials previously located in reading rooms 2-5). Call numbers A-L of general reference will locate in the Second Floor Reading Room and call numbers M-Z will locate in the Third Floor Reading Room.
As part of the general reconfiguration of the Regenstein bookstacks, materials classified in D (World History) are now, for the first time, located together in one sequence in the 2nd Floor Bookstacks. This includes:
DAW (History of Central Europe)
DB (History of Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Austro-Hungarian Empire)
DF (History of Ancient & Modern Greece)
DK (History of Russia/Soviet Union and former Soviet Republics; History of Poland)
DJK (History of Eastern Europe)
DR (History of the Balkans, Bulgaria, Albania, Romania; Yugoslav successor states)
Special Collections

One of the many photographs taken by Samuel Northrup Harper during his visits to Imperial Russia and the Soviet Union
- Archives of Czechs & Slovaks Abroad (ACASA)
- ACASA Inventory I
- ACASA Inventory II
- ACASA: Zpracovani Krajansky fondu
- Dr. Harry Bakwin & Dr. Ruth Morris Bakwin Soviet Posters Collection 1930-1932
- Louis Szathmary Hungarica Collection
- Russian Satirical Journals Published During the Russian Revolution of 1905-1907 (University of Chicago)
- Samuel N. Harper Russian Pamphlet Collection (Index)
- Samuel Northrup Harper Papers 1891-1943
WHAT'S NEW IN E-RESOURCES ??

You've indicated that you'd like to see more e-books, so we're starting to acquire them. Below are a few to review.
NEW E-BOOKS ACQUISITIONS
- Church and State: Religious Nationalism and State Identification in Post-Soviet Romania /Christian Romosea (2011)
- Contexts, Subtexts and Pretexts: Literary Translation in Eastern Europe and Russia /Brian Jame Baer (2011)
- A Comprehensive Russian Grammar / Terence Wade (2011)
- Futurism in Eastern and Central Europe (2011)
- Historical Dictionary of Kosovo / Robert Elsie (2011)
- Historical Dictionary of Lithuania / S. Suziedelis (2011)
- Latvian: An Essential Grammar / Praulins (2012)
- Polish: An Essential Grammar / Bielec (2012)
- Power, Culture and Economic Change in Russia: To the Undiscovered Country of Post-Socialism / Jeffrey Hass (2011)
- Socialist Alternative to Boshevik Russia: The Socialist Revolutionary Party / Elizabeth White (2011)
DATABASES
- Izvestiia Digital Archive
- Soviet Samizdat Periodicals (University of Toronto)
- Pravda Digital Archive
- Databse of Publications From Central Asia
OTHER
What's New in Print & Microform ?
NEW SERIAL TITLES
-
Blok. Międzynarodowe pismo poświęcone kulturze stalinowskiej i poststalinowskiej (Bydgoszcz) [HX40.B56]
-
Cultures d'Europe centrale (Paris) [AZ638.5.A1C85]
-
Folklorica (Lexington) [GR138.S44 Regenstein]
-
Istoricheskii vestnik (Nal'chik) DK511.C21757]
-
Linguistica Copernicana (Torun) [P9.L49]
-
Literaturoznawstwo (Lodz) [PG7001.L56]
-
Politics in Central Europe: The Journal of the Central European Political Science Association (Plzen) [DAW1001.P65]
-
Politiko-filosofskii ezhegodnik (Moskva) [JA74.5.P646]
-
Russkoe vremia: zhurnal konservativnoi mysli (Moskva) [JC573.2.R88]
-
Sovremennoe eseninovedenie (Riazan') [PG3476.E8Z4586]
-
Tsitata (Moskva) [PG2900.T75]
-
Vestnik Obshchestva issledovatelei Drevnei Rusi (Moskva) [PG3001.V48]
-
Yearbook of Conrad Studies (Cracow) [PR6005.O4Z4581Y43]
-
Zinziver: Sankt-Peterburgskii literaturno-khudozhestvennyi zhurnal (SPb) [PG3199.Z55]
OTHER NOTABLE ACQUISITIONS
-
Anti-Semitism and Nationalism at the End of the Soviet Era (138 fiches) [microfcDK285.5.A585 1993 3rd floor microforms]
-
Litsevoi letopisnyi svod XVI veka: Russkaia letopisnaia istoriia. 2009- v. 1- [PG3300.L58L58 2009 Regenstein bookstacks]
-
Russian Regional Archival Guides (250 guides on 30 reels of microfilm) [microfmCD1711.R87 2003 3rd floor microforms]
REFERENCE
- Anglo-russkii slovar' voennogo slenga (Daminova)
- Arkhivna ukrainika v Kanadi: dovidnyk
- Atlas of Moscow: Cartographic Encyclopedia
- Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century Russian Literature
- Dictionar biografic de istorie a Romaniei
- Encyklopedie Byzance
- Historical Dictionary of Russian Music
- "I zhizn', i slezy, i liubov'...": proiskhozhdenie, znachenie, sud'ba 1500 krylatykh slov i vyrazhenii russkogo iazyka
- Kazakhstan: encyclopedic reference book
- Kirilo-Metodievska bibliografiia 1516-1934
- Kirilo-Metodievska bibliografiia 1934-1944
- Novy slovnik cizich slov pro 21. stoleti
- Putevoditel' po kinofotodokumentam Rossiiskogo gos. arkhiva kinofotodokumentov (RGAKFD)
- Rijetkosti u Knijiznici Hrvatske Akademije Znanosti i Umjetnost: katalog inkunabula i knjiga 16 stoljeca
- Routledge Handbook of Russian Politics and Society
- Rukh oporu v Ukraini 1960-1990: entsyklopedychnyi dovidnyk
- Spravochnik po fondam munitsipal'nykh arkhivov Respubliki Tatarstan
- To Helleniko lexiko: orthographiko, hermeneutiko, etymologiko
- Wielka encyklopedia malarstwa polskiego
NEW AT THE CENTER FOR RESEARCH LIBRARIES [Can be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan]
-
Imperial Russia's Illustrated Press [5 titles on 580 microfiches]
-
Muslims in Russia 1881-1918 [11 titles on 30 fiches and 49 reels of film]
-
Zapoliar'e (Vorkuta) 1952-1970 [microfilm]
Bibliographer for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Associate Slavic Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
EXHIBITS & ART
NEW EXHIBITS

THE RED PENCIL = КРАСНЫЙ КАРАНДАШ
CENSORSHIP IN RUSSIA & THE SOVIET UNION
ART IN THE SECOND FLOOR READING ROOM
- Dreaming of Each Other: In Memory of Professor Anna Lisa Crone
- Aleko Konstantinov: To Chicago and Back




Loading...
