Skip to Main Content

Slavic, Eastern European, and Eurasian Studies

Planning an Archival Trip

While your advisor or preceptor should be your main contact for information about planning archival trips, there are some basic guidance and resources that may be helpful.

  1. Check for the accessibility of relevant materials online, on microform, and in books
  2. Check for accessibility of relevant materials locally at the University of Chicago, and if relevant at other local institutions such as the Center for Research Libraries or the Newberry Library. If relevant, consider Chicago institutions like the Polish Museum of America or the Chicago History Museum.
  3. Check for collections in the US. ArchiveGrid is a portal to many US-based archival collections. The Hoover Institution has extensive collections in Slavic & East European studies including microfilm copies from libraries abroad. 
  4. Most countries have online portals. Start there to determine which archives may have relevant material. Depending on the request size, some archives will be willing to make copies for researchers, sometimes for a fee.
  5. Make sure to familiarize yourself with the archival structure and terminology if you are going to an archive abroad.

Finding Archives

Searching the catalog for Archival Guides

A large number of guides to archives in Eastern Europe are available only in print or microform. In combination with using keywords for your targeted region, language, or topic, some terms to try for subject searching include:

  • Archival Resources
  • Library Resources
  • Manuscripts
  • Directories
  • Guide
  • Libraries
  • Archives

Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Megan Browndorf
She/Her
Contact:
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 561
1100 E. 57th Street
Chicago, IL 60637
773-702-8456