Slavic, Eastern European, and Eurasian Studies

FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides fascinating insight into the second half of the 20th century. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this definitive online collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

World News Connection is an online news service, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. This is no longer being updated.

The Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

This archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.

Provides access to full text of over 50 Russian newspapers.

Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.

A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.

Full-text of both historical and contemporary newspapers (in Russian and English) published in Central Asia. Coverage begins with 2000 for most titles.

Founded in 1917, Gudok (Гудок, Whistle) began as a small newspaper focused on rail industry news but grew by the 1970s into a 700,000-circulation daily with an edgy mix of commentary and satire on culture, politics, and society.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.

Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923. Throughout its illustrious history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural luminaries as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others.

The Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage from 1990 to 2016. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia...

Published from 1912-to the present. From 1912-1991, it was the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union.

The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine in the early 20th century—covering events leading up to WWII. Comprising five titles and over 50,000 pages, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv.