Founded in 1925 in Moscow and in continuous print until its closure in 1941, 30 Dnei was an illustrated Soviet literary journal most famous for the serialized publications of such Soviet literary sensations as Il’f and Petrov’s The Twelve Chairs and The Golden Calf... Apart from helping launch and shape the literary careers of a slew of Soviet writers the journal was instrumental in introducing acclaimed works of short fiction, essays, and poetry by foreign authors as well.
This collection consists of comprehensive materials related to the former Yugoslavia, particularly Bosnia, and U.S. presidential decision-making. Documents constitute the complete FOIA request listed as 1998-0102-FL: Records on Bosnia and the Former Yugoslavia.
The collection consists of three FOIA files from the Bush Library. The first file contains material related to the Moscow summit and the coup in August 1991 against Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev. The second file, which concerns the dissolution of the Soviet Union, highlights the Bush administration's response to the dissolution and the formation of the Commonwealth of Independent States. The last FOIA file contains materials on the meeting between President Bush and President Mikhail Gorbachev in Malta (December 2-3, 1989) and the subsequent meetings between President Bush and NATO leaders in Brussels (December 3- 4, 1989).
Founded in 1917, Gudok (Гудок, Whistle) began as a small newspaper focused on rail industry news but grew by the 1970s into a 700,000-circulation daily with an edgy mix of commentary and satire on culture, politics, and society.
The Beilis Case was one of the most important public events in Russia before WWI and garnered worldwide attention. Despite evidence to the contrary, police charged Mendel Beilis, a Jewish clerk in Kyiv, in the ritual murder of a Gentile boy, as part of a government ploy to incite mass anti-Semitic programs throughout the country. This collection presents unique documents covering the trial and the events surrounding it, including proceedings of the court, testimonies of all 355 witnesses, speeches by the prosecution and the defense, materials of the investigation, newspaper articles, and other pertinent sources.
Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923. Throughout its illustrious history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural luminaries as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others.
The Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage from 1990 to 2016. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia...
Primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Material from the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) contains primary and secondary source material related to Joseph Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs. A majority of these documents are scanned page images and corresponding bibliographic records in Russian created by the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). The archive also contains full transcriptions of all of the volumes in Yale University Press's acclaimed Annals of Communism (AOC) series."
Contains over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents to provide a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus.
This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
Brill’s Russian Military Intelligence on Asia’s archive series gathers the holdings of the Russian State Military History Archive (RGVIA) in Moscow for nine countries:
The Far Eastern Threat – Confronting China, Japan, and Korea; The Eastern Question – Confronting Turkey, Palestine, Arabia and Syria; The Great Game – Confronting Persia and Afghanistan
The bulk of the Secret Prints consists of first-hand accounts composed by contemporary travelers to lesser-known reaches of Asia. Most were Russian army officers, many of whom had extensive training in geography and related disciplines.
The papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to 1782, covering a wide range of documents, subjects, and importance, they concern internal English/British affairs and administration of the country, and foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties and wars.
Consists of various ephemera (both pro and contra) and official documents disseminated in the months leading up to the All-Russian referendum, formally called “All-Russian vote,” in July 2020. It allows researchers to study the visual and textual aspects of the respective campaigns to shape public opinion as well as the legislative basis and trajectory of the Constitutional amendments.
The present database represents the most comprehensive collection of election related ephemera and primary source material documenting the contentious Armenian parliamentary elections of May 6, 2012. It contains thousands of pages of unique print materials collected by East View researchers in Yerevan and other Armenian cities.
The 2013 presidential election in Armenia were held on February 18 in a politically charged atmosphere. Although the conduct of the elections marked certain improvements over the elections of the previous years, both parliamentary and presidential, they nevertheless fell predictably short from western electoral standards. The election despite its predictable result saw some truly remarkable developments, the most significant of which was perhaps the overwhelming victory of the opposition candidate in the country’s second largest city.
The present database represents a collection of primary source materials gathered by East View’s researchers during the contentious elections. It includes, but is not limited to, the programs of the registered candidates, their financial disclosures, and other relevant documents and print material that would allow researchers to reconstruct the scope and the breadth of the political debate in Armenia leading up to the elections.
The present database represents the most comprehensive collection of ephemera and primary source material from the Euromaidan protests that rocked Kiev beginning on November 21, 2013. The collection contains over 500 pages of unique print materials collected by East View researchers at Kiev’s Maidan Nezalezhnosti, the epicenter of the protests.