Skip to main content

Collection Development Policy

K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection

K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection

 

Overview of the Collection

History

Starting with the founding of the College of Education in 1901, curriculum materials were collected to support the University’s teacher education programs.  In the early years of the University, curriculum materials were maintained at the various University-run schools (such as the Laboratory School) that supported the teacher education programs.  Eventually, a separate curriculum laboratory was established and housed with the Education Library in Judd Hall.  In 1970, the curriculum laboratory moved with the education collections into the newly constructed Joseph Regenstein Library. 

Changes in the study of education at Chicago in the mid-20th century impacted the Library’s curriculum collection.  As the focus of the University’s education programs moved away from teacher training, the need for the Library to collect curriculum materials decreased.  By the 1990s, purchasing was ultimately suspended and the remaining curriculum materials in the Library were consolidated into a small, inactive textbook collection on the 4th floor of Regenstein Library.

The growth of University’s Urban Teacher Education Program, established in 2003, called attention to the Library’s outdated curriculum collection. The textbook collection was not adequate for the needs of the new program, and did not reflect recent educational trends or pedagogy.  The textbook collection also had few unique or significant items to justify maintaining it as an historical collection.

Consequentially, funding was provided in 2006 to reestablish a curriculum collection in Regenstein Library.  The textbook collection was weeded and the K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection was created.  The new circulating collection was initially located on the 4th floor Reading Room, but is now in its own space in Room 505.


Broad subject areas emphasized or de-emphasized

The collection includes curriculum materials and professional development resources that may be of interest to K-12 teachers, school administrators, or other education professionals. Key areas of focus are teaching techniques, pedagogy, classroom management, and curricula (including K-12 textbooks).

Audience/Purpose

The collection primarily supports UTEP students and faculty.  The collections may also be of interest to faculty of the University of Chicago Laboratory School, along with other individuals concerned with teaching or pedagogy.

 

Collecting Guidelines

Levels of Selection

The K-12 Curriculum Materials collects teaching and professional materials in all subject areas at the instructional support level.  The majority of items are classified in the Library of Congress Classification system under education, specifically the call numbers L-LC.  Although the Curriculum Materials Collection includes K-12 textbooks, these are not generally classified under LT, but under their respective subjects.


Type of materials included & excluded

The K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection focuses on professional books and teaching materials that are not normally purchased through the Library’s education funds.  These include lesson plans, workbooks, textbooks, and teachers’ manuals.  Educational films are also collected, as well as instructional software on CD-ROM.   At this time, we do not collect children’s literature, although this may be reevaluated at a future date based on UTEP needs and available funds. 


Physical formats included & excluded (audio, microform, videos, etc.)

All formats are collected. While the majority of the collection is in print, a growing number of DVDs and CD-ROMs are included.  Eventually, as funding is available, the collection will grow to include other formats, including kits and devices. 

Electronic resources are acquired as appropriate and funds are available.  At this time, the Collection includes two online resources: The Krause Curriculum Development Library and the Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database. 


Publication dates collected

Priority is given to the purchase of materials published since the late 1990s.


Languages

Items are purchased in English, with an exception being classroom materials, such as textbooks for foreign-language instruction.


Geographical range

The collection focuses on the United States.


Chronological span

The collection focuses on the late 20th century to the present.

 

Cooperative Arrangements and Related Collections

There are no collection development arrangements with local institutions.  Due to our reciprocal access and borrowing arrangement with Northwestern University Library, our students and faculty may use the Curriculum Collection at the Main Library in Evanston.