Skip to main content

Collection Development Policy

Library Science

Library Science
Nancy Spiegel
May 2009


Brief Overview of the Collection

·         History:  The Library Science collection supported the research and teaching programs of the Graduate Library School from its establishment in 1926 to its dissolution in 1990. Since then, collecting has continued across a broad range of fields to support ongoing research and curricular interest.

·          Broad subject areas emphasized or de-emphasized: Current holdings are strongest in the humanistic aspects of the discipline—the history of book, libraries as cultural institutions, and the arts of the book. Emphasis is on European history, especially during the early modern period, and on U. S. and German publishing. Also emphasized are works on the history and current practice of academic librarianship.

·         Audience/Purpose: The collection supports the study of the arts of the book, and the history of the book, in the various disciplines across the University. It serves the information needs of library staff in their work and their professional development. 

 

Levels of selection (Comprehensive, research, instructional support, basic information; for a description of these levels, see the general policy statement).

·         Book Arts (Library of Congress class Z116-Z659) Encompassing the history of publishing, the history of printing, book design and fabrication, material in this range is collected on a research level in western languages. Also covered here are works on the history of censorship and copyright law; D’Angelo Law Library is responsible for covering the legal aspects of copyright and censorship.

·         Librarianship (Z662-Z1000.5) Librarianship includes the history, theory and practice of library work. The literature is collected on a research level in English, and on a basic information level in foreign languages. Works on cataloging, collection development and public services are collected in depth if focused on college and university libraries.

·         Bibliography (Z1001-Z1946). Bibliographies, both national and trade, and catalogs of major manuscript collections, are acquired on a research level. Responsibility for general, trade and subject bibliographies is shared widely among the Library’s selectors. The Reference and Business Information Center funds most general reference books and electronic resources.

 

Type of materials included and excluded: Textbooks and other practical materials are acquired to support the information needs of library staff.  International conference proceedings and exhibition catalogs are acquired sparingly. Excluded are technical works on information science, and most titles of primary interest to school and public libraries.

Physical formats included & excluded: All formats are considered. Electronic access is generally preferred for both journals and bibliographic tools.

Publication dates collected: Emphasis is given to the acquisition of current titles.  Earlier imprints are acquired occasionally to fill gaps in our holdings.

Languages: Titles are chosen for their importance regardless of language, but English is preferred. Materials published in Eastern Europe, China, Korea and Japan, South Asia, the Middle East and Africa are selected by the relevant bibliographers.

Geographical range: Coverage of national and trade bibliography is worldwide; the majority of the monographic acquisitions are North American and European imprints.  

Chronological span: Titles covering the post-classical period to the present are collected. 

 

 Related University of Chicago collections: Responsibility for the Zs is distributed widely among the area and subject bibliographers, and the Special Collections Research Center.

 

Cooperative arrangements and related collections: The Newberry Library has extremely rich holdings in bibliography and the history of the book. Their John M. Wing Foundation for the History of Printing possesses a collection of international significance, and their holdings influence our own collection development in those areas. Other research materials, such as public documents from state governments, can be borrowed from the Center for Research Libraries.

 

Librarian

Rebecca Starkey's picture
Rebecca Starkey
Contact:
Librarian for College Instruction & Outreach, Gender Studies, Environmental Studies, and Library Science
Regenstein Library

Pronouns: She / Her / Hers
773-702-4484