Skip to main content

Collection Development Policy

Spanish, Catalan, & Portuguese Language & Literatures

Spanish, Catalan, & Portuguese Language & Literatures
Sarah G. Wenzel



Brief overview of the collection

History

Spanish, Catalan and Portuguese language and literature materials have been collected since the founding of the University.  The collection was housed in the Harper Library until the building of the Regenstein Library.

 Broad subject areas emphasized & de-emphasized

The collection encompasses literature originally written in Spanish, Catalan and Portuguese, and the Spanish, Catalan and Portuguese languages from the medieval era to the 21st century.  The geographic focus of the collection is on the Iberian Peninsula and the Americas. Literatures in Spanish or Portuguese from outside of those areas are collected selectively.  Strengths of the collection reflect both the past and current curricular and research emphases of faculty.  In particular, there is a strong coverage of the Medieval, Siglo de Oro and Modern periods.  More recent areas of interest include 19th-, 20th- and 21st- century literature.  Linguistic materials are acquired to support instruction and research interests.  Materials covering Galician and Basque are also included on a very selective basis.

Description of academic program

The Romance Languages and Literature department offers a BA, MA & PhD in Spanish literature, and advanced study in both Catalan and Portuguese.  In addition, the collection supports students obtaining a PhD in Renaissance and Early Modern Studies; an MA in the Humanities (MAPH); an MA in Latin American and Caribbean Studies; a BA, MA or PhD in Comparative Literature; or a BA or PhD in Linguistics.

Audience/purpose

The collection supports instruction and student research through the PhD level, as well as faculty research. Students and faculty members in the Romance Languages and Literature department are the primary users of the collection.  However, users from other departments (e.g., English, Linguistics, Music, and Comparative Literature) and from other programs (e.g., the MA in the Humanities, the MA in Latin American and Caribbean Studies), as well as many of the interdisciplinary centers (e.g., Center for Latin American Studies, Katz Center for Mexican Studies) rely on the collections.  Secondarily, the literature collection supplies material for reading outside of coursework for the university community as a whole.

 

Collecting Guidelines

Levels of selection

Comprehensive, research, instructional support, basic information; for a description of these levels, see the general policy statement.

Uralic. Basque (PH 5001-5490)

Includes language and literature, both collected at the basic information level.

 Romance Philology and Languages – Catalan (PC 3801-3813)

Includes language and literature, both collected at the instructional support level. Bilingual dictionaries from languages other than English or Spanish are not acquired (unless there is no equivalent available).

Romance Languages – Spanish (PC 4001-4699)

Covers all aspects of the language (political, social, economic), as well as language acquisition, translation, etymology and lexicography. This area is collected at the research level in materials published in Western languages.  Bilingual dictionaries from languages other than English are not acquired (unless there is no equivalent available).

Romance Languages – Portuguese (PC 5001-5498)

Covers all aspects of the language (political, social, economic), as well as language acquisition, translation, etymology and lexicography. This area is collected at the instructional support level in materials published in Western languages.  Bilingual dictionaries from languages other than English are not acquired (unless there is no equivalent available).

 Romance Languages – Spanish – Dialects, etc. (PC 4701-4949)

Includes Africa and the Americas. Covers all aspects of the language (political, social, economic), as well as language acquisition, translation, etymology and lexicography. Dictionaries, grammars and encyclopediæ are collected at the research level, excluding bilingual dictionaries from languages other than English or Spanish (unless there is no equivalent available). Other materials are collected at the basic information level.

 Romance Languages – Spanish – Slang, Argot (PC 4951-4977)

Dictionaries, grammars and encyclopediæ are collected at the research level, excluding bilingual dictionaries from languages other than English or Spanish. Other materials are collected at the basic information level.

Spanish Literature –  History and Criticism (PQ 6001-6269)

Collected at the research level in materials published in Western languages, particularly Spanish and English. 

 Spanish Literature – Spain (PQ 7000-7011)

Includes literary history, biography, criticism, and collections of the literature of provinces, regions, islands, and places belonging to Spain. Collected at the instructional support level.

Spanish Literature – Provincial (PQ 7000-7011)

Includes literary history, biography, criticism, and collections of the literature of provinces, regions, islands, and places belonging to Spain. Collected at the instructional support level.

Spanish Literature – the Americas (PQ 7070-8550.36)

Collected at the research level in materials published in Western languages, particularly Spanish and English. 

 Spanish Literature – Africa, Asia, Australasia, etc. (PQ 8600-8929)

Collected at the instructional support level.  The library’s collection is supplemented by the very strong holdings at Northwestern University.

Portuguese Literature –  History and Criticism (PQ 9000-9129)

Collected at the instructional support level in materials published in Western languages, particularly Portuguese and English. 

Portuguese Literature – (PQ 9131-9288)

Collected at the instructional support level in materials published in Western languages, particularly Portuguese and English.

Portuguese Literature – Provincial (PQ 9400-9411)

Includes literary history, biography, criticism, and collections of the literature of provinces, regions, islands, and places belonging to Portugal. Collected at the basic information level.

 Portuguese Literature – the Americas (PQ 9470-9698.36)

Collected at the instructional support level. 

 Portuguese Literature – Africa (PQ 9900-9948.9)

Collected at the instructional support level.  The library’s collection is supplemented by the very strong holdings at Northwestern University.

Portuguese Literature – Asia, Australasia, etc. (PQ 9950-9999)

Collected at the basic information level. 

 

Type of materials included and excluded

Literary works, critical literature, dictionaries, encyclopediæ and grammars are all actively acquired.  These include journals, monographs, and series, either in print or online.  Graphic novels, a growing field of scholarship and research, are also acquired selectively.

Spoken word recordings and performances are acquired on a very selective basis. 

Artist’s books are acquired on an extremely selective basis, in consultation with the Art Bibliographer and Special Collections.  The library purchases facsimiles very selectively, as funds allow, and based on faculty recommendation or to build on established special collections.

Unrevised dissertations available online through the Library’s subscription to Proquest Digital Theses and Dissertations are excluded

 

Physical formats included and excluded

An increasing percentage of the journal collection is available online rather than in print.  The print monograph is still preferred over the electronic.  However, reference works online are preferred over print.

Microform is acquired selectively. Microforms of individual items are usually obtained upon faculty or student request.  Large sets of microforms are purchased as funds allow.

CD-ROMs are acquired extremely selectively.  CDs and DVDs are collected; however, LPs and videocassettes are not acquired.

 

Publication dates collected

Emphasis is given to the acquisition of current titles, but appropriate earlier imprints are acquired, when possible, to fill gaps in the collection. Titles published before 1800 are selected in collaboration with the Director of the Special Collections Research Center.

 

Languages

Titles are chosen for their importance regardless of language; however, Spanish, Catalan, Portuguese and English, are preferred. Critical literature in German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish is also collected, although more selectively. English translations of important works are purchased selectively; French, Spanish, German or Italian translations of works originally published in languages likely to be less familiar to patrons are also considered selectively. The Romance Literatures Bibliographer relies on several Area Studies selectors for non-English and non-French language materials published in Africa, China and Japan, and for most titles published in South Asia, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. Indigenous languages of the Americas are the responsibility of the Anthropology bibliographer, including bilingual indigenous language-Spanish dictionaries.

 

Geographical range

The emphasis is on titles published in Western Europe, North America and Latin America, with a more limited acquisition of bilingual and English-language works from China and Japan. Materials from Africa are acquired on a selective basis, in coordination with the selector for African Studies.

 

Chronological span

Titles from the medieval period to the present are collected.  Selection of materials published prior to that period is the responsibility of the Classics Bibliographer. 

 

Related University of Chicago collections

Increasingly, aspects of other subjects, e.g., psychology, law, medicine, film, are important to literary scholarship.  Students in Spanish, Catalan and Portuguese literature use many of the other subject collections depending on their areas of interest.

 

Cooperative arrangements and related collections

Other libraries in Chicago complement the University of Chicago’s collections in French language and literature. These include Northwestern University (Africana, early 20th-century movements, journalism) and the Newberry Library (illuminated manuscripts, dialectology).  We rely on the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, foreign dissertations, and some large microform sets.

Librarian

Sarah G. Wenzel's picture
Sarah G. Wenzel
Contact:
sgwenzel@uchicago.edu

Bibliographer
Literatures of Europe & the Americas

Regenstein Library
Room 363
773.702.8448