The Slavic and East European collections contain over 588,500 volumes on Russia and the Soviet Union, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, as well as the countries of Eastern Europe, including Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia and Macedonia. The collections, which are accessed through the Library Catalog, include material from all disciplines of the humanities and social sciences and in all of the vernacular languages of these geographic areas. The collections are especially strong in Slavic philology and linguistics, Russian and other Slavic literatures, history, economics, political science, geography, and the history of religions. The Slavic Reference Collection, numbering over 7,500 volumes, is located at the east end of the Second Floor Reading Room (RR2S), and includes a wide selection of specialized bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, serial indexes, library catalogs, archival guides and other research aids.
One of the many photographs taken by Samuel Northrup Harper during his visits to Imperial Russia and the Soviet Union
ON THE FRONT & IN THEIR OWN WORDS:WORLD WAR I ON THE EASTERN FRONT
Through the course of World War I and from diverse points of view, many felt the need to comment immediately upon their experiences in war. Here are just a few samplings available in the University of Chicago Library