UpToDate is a practical clinical reference comprised of thousands of original topic reviews which address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate performs a continuous review of over 270 journals and other resources.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics, DynaMed is an evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services.
The American College of Physicians’ Smart Medicine (formerly PIER) is an authoritative evidence-based guidance tool. ACP Smart Medicine's Diseases modules include sections on diagnosis, prevention, screening, drug therapy, patient education, case scenarios, and more. Additional modules include Procedures; Complementary and Alternative Medicine; Ethical and Legal Issues; and AHFS DI Essentials. PIER adds and revises information as new disease findings become available.
Reviewers for American College of Physicians screen over 130 clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Abstracts of the reviewed articles are provided with a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice.
Written weekly by Richard Lehman, initially only for the Oxford University Department of Primary Care and now for a global audience, Journal Watch provides a personal comment on articles from the main medical journals selected for their interest to doctors.
Database of citations (from over 130 premier clinical journals) are rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing physicians. Collaboration between BMJ Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit.
Content is identified using a variety of methods, all follow the principles of evidence based medicine. TRIP works with the Department of Family Medicine at Laval University, Quebec, Canada to help identify and appraise sites using a directory that features over 100 critically appraised websites that mainly offer critically appraised topics (CATs) or original articles, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).
Includes full text of the regularly-updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews - regularly-updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and Protocols - protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552 Email Deb
Contents include clinical trials, experimental treatments, experimental and new diagnostic procedures, patient enrollment, patient accrual, patient recruitment, and all study phases. Information is provided about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and contact information.
A database of controlled trials identified by Cochrane Review Groups and others, as part of an international effort to search the world's medical literature. Includes reports published in conference proceedings and in other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.
Database global listings of industry- and government-sponsored clinical trials. More than 875 clinical research centers and 600 companies offering a variety of services to the clinical trials community are profiled. Locate research centers by medical expertise or geographic region and industry providers by type of services provided.
The Health Services Technology/Assessment Texts (HSTAT) is a free, electronic resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. HSTAT is also available through the NCBI Bookshelf.