German Literature

Humanities International Complete is a comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.

DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one- fourth of all titles), literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.

Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects

An international bibliography indexing materials on German literature and literary studies, including books and journals, but for the most part excluding book reviews. Covers 1985 to present. For earlier coverage consult print at Z2231.B6 Gen (1945-1968) and Z2231.B601 RR3 (1969- ).

Portal for European Electronic Theses and Dissertations.

Bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors. Includes a short biography, critical essay, and references for primary and secondary literature.

Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.

Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae.
From their Website.

Edited by Andr Vauchez; Translated by Adrian Walford. A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
From their Website

IEMA, an entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), is being produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers; it will be made available at Brepolis, the Brepols site for online medieval encyclopedias, bibliographies, and databases. The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA will complement and fill in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).