German Literature

Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

Online version of the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker's authoritative editions of over thirty authors, including early German texts such as Lancelot and Ginover and Wolfram von Eschenbach, editions of important authors such as Herder, Kleist, and Bchner, and the works of philosophers such as Kant, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. Collections of historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts add context and background material.

InteLex Corporations Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. InteLex acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.
From their website

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield.
We have access to Collections 1-6, and 12,
Collection 15: Revolution and Reformation: Science and Religion in the Early Modern Period
Collection 17: Statecraft and Law in Early Modern France
Collection 18: History & Chronicles from the Bibliothèque de l’Arsenal
Collection 19: Voyages & Imagination Travel
Collection 20: French Spiritual Life: Religious renewal in early modern France
Collection 21: Peace and Governance

German poetry online based on the series, Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek. Covers 15th century to the beginning of the 20th century. Includes 2.5 million words, 170,000 unique forms, in 14,714 works.

Electronic version of the complete works of Bertolt Brecht.

Searchable text of Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebcher (published by S. Fischer Verlag) including critical apparatus and commentary.

Based on the Weimar edition. Includes his Bible translations and treatises, as well as sermons, letters, Tischreden, poems and hymns. Searches may be limited to a particular work or genre, or expanded to include the entire database.

Comprises the complete works of Friedrich von Schiller (1759 - 1805), including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller and the Conversations.

Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The edition now comprises fifty-six volumes, with six more in preparation.