Library Guides: How do I find articles?: ProQuest Databases

Popular ProQuest Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Article database that indexes academic journals, trade publications, newspapers and magazines in business and economics. Full text is often available.
Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

'Cited By' in ProQuest

When reviewing search results, if that paper has been cited, you can click on "Cited by" to see where the citation has been cited.

Keep in mind this only locates the records within the same database that have bibliographies included as part of the record. Each database varies on what it includes.

Look up an Author in ProQuest

If you are looking to measure an author's impact, use ProQuest's Look Up feature to find all the articles by that author in a ProQuest database. To do so: follow these 5 steps:

From the advanced search screen, choose "Author-AU" in the drop down menu. After that selection the "Look up Authors" link appears.
Click "Look up Authors"
In the pop-up box, search for authors by last name and first initial.
Add all variations of the author's name, and click add to search. This will bring you back to the advanced search screen, but now your search terms will be filled in.
Hit "Search." When you get your results list, scroll through it to find any articles that have the "cited by" link.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences