Finding Background Material
The library holds hundreds of reference works on slavery and migration topics. To locate them, search the Library Catalog.
Use Advanced Search and enter either "encyclopedias" or "handbooks," etc. as a subject or topic and add keywords.
Below are some sample searches:
- Slavery History Encyclopedias
- Latin America politics Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedias immigrants United States
Encyclopedias and Histories
- Cambridge History of Latin America (1984-2008)All eleven volumes are online and keyword-searchable, part of Cambridge Histories Online. Volumes are organized chronologically; volume 11 compiles the bibliographies into a single, organized work.
A selection of hard copy and digital titles.
- Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World (2007)Online source examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific developments
- Encyclopedia of Japanese Descendants in the Americas: An Illustrated History of the Nikkei (2002)Includes a historical overview of Japanese emigration, and an overview overview of Japanese migration studies, with chapters devoted to Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia and Chile.
In print. - Anti-Immigration in the United States (2011)Covers topics such as public policy, pubic opinion, class, ethnicity, and social conditions over all of US history.
In print. - Immigration: a Documentary and Reference Guide (2009)Organized into 13 chapters covering a wide range of topics related to immigration. Chapter 9, "Mexico and the U.S. Immigration Debate," has both background information and primary sources that might be hard to track down elsewhere.
In print. - Cambridge Survey of World Migration (1995)Migrations throughout the world are covered in sequence; considered a "useful first source." In print.
Bibliographies
- Latin America and the Caribbean: a critical guide to research sourcesCo-authored by Latin American Studies Librarians, this guide has substantial bibliographic essays on all periods of Latin American history.
- Short Guide to Sources for Latin American HistoryA dated, though still useful, compilation of research guides, bibliographies and histories of Latin America.
Subject Guide
Nancy Spiegel
she/her
Contact:
Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
773-702-5193