Library Guides: Anthropology: Home

Getting Started

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
The major index to serial literature in anthropology.
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full texts of many major anthropology (and other) journals
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of nearly all the journals published by the American Anthropological Association through 2003; also contains current issues for 11 of the AAA's peer-reviewed publications.
Annual Reviews in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
The Annual Review of Anthropology publishes review essays covering significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Anthropology
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Full texts of ethnographic literature
A cross-cultural database on the world's prehistory. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). Designed to facilitate comparative ethnographical and anthropological studies. The mission is to encourage comparative studies of human behavior, society and culture.
eHRAF Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Full texts of literature in archaeology
A cross-cultural database on the world's prehistory. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF). Designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. The mission is to encourage comparative studies of human behavior, society and culture.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press
Part of Alexander Street Press's "Anthropology," which brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Streamed non-fiction films
Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issue films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films

Welcome to the Anthropology Guide

The University of Chicago Library holds what is probably one of North America's best university anthropology collections. All fields of anthropology and all regions of the world are represented. Areas of particular regional strength include but are not limited to South Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America.

Featured Acquisition

Anthropology (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Anthropology brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.
Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland Archive This link opens in a new window
The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense. The Institute is a non-profit-making registered charity and is entirely independent, with a Director and a small staff accountable to the Council, which in turn is elected annually from the Fellowship. It has a Royal Patron in the person of HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO.

Subject Specialist

Laura Ring

She, her, hers

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 564

773-702-2934

Subjects: Anthropology, Social Sciences, Southern Asia

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.