Library Guides: HIST 26213: Migrations and the Americas, Conquest to Present: Articles

Online Journals

E-Journals database This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines that are available online using the Library's database of electronic holdings.
Find journals and magazines that are available online.

Core Articles Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes articles published from 1955 to the present. The subject area is world history from 1450 (excluding North America). Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles published since 1963 in sociology and related disciplines.
Can cross-search with World Wide Political Science Abstracts and PAIS International. Click the "I" for instructions. Upper left hand corner: "Searching: 1 database" - click the arrow to expand.
In upper right hand corner of new window: Click "View By Subject."
Expand "Social Sciences Databases."
Check off : PAIS International, Sociological Abstracts, World Wide Political Science Abstracts.
Click "Use Selected Databases"
Click "Advanced Search"
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide informationfrom analyses of political, economic, and social issues to Latin American arts and letterson Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the United States.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles published since 1985 on political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. International in scope and contains historical as well as current research.
Covers the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The focus is North American history, with articles published from 1964 to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive database of journals relating to all aspects of international studies.
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Along with World Wide Political Science Abstracts, a core database for political science research. International in scope and contains historical as well as current research.
It is worth checking both poli sci databases for material on your topics as they each cover some unique journals.
Provides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, US and foreign. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers.

Subject Guide

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences

Find It!

Use the Find It! button to determine if the Library provides access to a specific article.

When you locate a citation in a Library database, click in the record.

If the article is available online, Find It! will provide links to the full-text.
If it not available online, select "Find It at the Library" to determine if the publication is available in the Library's print collections.
If the journal is not available online or in print, Find It! will provide the option to submit an Interlibrary Loan request for the article.