Library Guides: Japanese Studies: Books

Catalogs

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs, and more.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, journals, audio and visual materials, and more available on campus and all over the world.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the collection at CRL near campus.
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

CiNii Books
Index for books held by Japanese university libraries.
National Diet Library Catalog 国立国会図書館
Search results will include books, periodicals, and digitized materials--unless search limits are set.

BookPlus (Nichigai) This link opens in a new window
Japanese bibliographic database. Search for books by author, title, publisher, publication date, keyword(s), or ISBN. A full-text search is also available.

E-Book Sources

Search for E-Books Using the Library Catalog.

Find Ebooks available through Library sources.

See also the Library's guide How do I find e-books?

Kotenseki Sōgō Database 古典籍総合データベース (Waseda)
Digital collection of classic (mostly pre-Edo-period) Japanese and Chinese publications.

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Literature in Translation

Japanese Historical Text Initiative (UC Berkeley)

Purchase Request

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.

Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.

Borrowing Books from Other Libraries

The University of Chicago Libraries partner with other libraries to borrow and lend materials to and from one another. That means that you can borrow books from other libraries when they are not available here.