Library Guides: Japanese Studies: Newspapers

Online Newspaper Archives

Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ (formerly known as Kikuzo II Visual [聞蔵II]) This link opens in a new window
Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search (formerly known as Kikuzo II) provides access to several publications: 1. Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞, Shukan Asahi 週刊朝日, and AERA: full-text archive (1984 [Showa 59]-present); 2. Asahi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版: digital scans of original pages (1879 [Meiji 12]-1989 [Showa 64/Heisei 1]); 3. Chie-zo 知恵蔵: dictionary of contemporary terms; 4. Jinbutsu 人物: Who's Who; 5. Rekishi shashin 歴史写真: historical photo archive (1930s-1945). Limited simultaneous access: Be sure to click "LOG-OUT" after each visit.
Yomiuri Shinbun - Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 (読売新聞) This link opens in a new window
Yomidasu Rekishikan contains four sub-databases: 1. Rekishikan: newspaper articles (1874 [Meiji 7]-present); 2.The Yomiuri Shimbun: newspaper articles (1986 [Showa 61]-present); 3. The Japan News (English): newspaper articles (1989 [Showa 64/Heisei 1]-present); 4. Gendai Jinmeiroku: Who's Who. Limited simultaneous access: Be sure to click "LOG-OUT" after each visit.
Maisaku - Mainichi Shinbun 毎索 (毎日新聞） This link opens in a new window
Mainichi Newspaper articles (1872 [Meiji 5]-present); Shukan Ekonomisuto 週刊エコノミスト articles (1989 [Showa 64/Heisei 1]-present); The Mainichi (English edition) (2008-present); the company's history; results of public-opinion polls (yoron chosa 世論調査), mostly on politics (1945-1975). Limited simultaneous access: Be sure to click "LOG-OUT" after each visit.
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
Coverage:
Japan Times of the 1860s: Sept. 8, 1865 (Keio 1)-Jun. 30, 1866 (Keio 2)
Japan Times: Mar. 22, 1897 (Meiji 30)-Mar. 31, 1918 (Taisho 7)
Japan Times & Mail: Apr. 1, 1918 (Taisho 7)-Nov. 10, 1940 (Showa 15)
Japan Times and Advertiser: Nov. 11, 1940 (Showa 15)-Dec. 31, 1940 (Showa 15)
Japan Advertiser: Jan. 17, 1917 (Taisho 6); May 10, 1925 (Taisho 14); May 17, 1925 (Taisho 14); May 24, 1925 (Taisho 14); May 31, 1925 (Taisho 14); Sep. 24, 1932 (Showa 7); Mar. 22, 1933 (Showa 8); Oct. 21, 1940 (Showa 15)
Japan Times & Advertiser: Jan. 1, 1941 (Showa 16)-Oct. 4, 1942 (Showa 17)
Japan Times Advertiser: Oct. 5, 1942 (Showa 17)-Dec. 31, 1942 (Showa 17)
Nippon Times: Jan. 1, 1943 (Showa 18)-June 30, 1956 (Showa 31)
Japan Times: July 1, 1956 (Showa 31)-Dec. 31 of the previous year
[Click on the yellow box at the bottom "Japan Times Book Viewer" to access "Japan Illustrated" (1963-1977) and Japan Times special edition from 1928 that commemorated the enthronement of Emperor Hirohito]

Newspaper Articles from National Diet Library

The National Diet Library of Japan has an extensive collection of historical newspapers, many of which have been digitized. So long as we have complete citation information, we can obtain a PDF scan of an article, at no cost to you. You can use our regular ILL services to place a request. If you are not sure how to do this, or if you only have partial citation information, please contact Ayako Yoshimura for assistance.

Colonial-era Newspapers

Keijō shinpō 京城新報
Print

Keijō Nippō (Kyŏngsŏng ilbo) 京城日報 This link opens in a new window
Dates of Coverage: 1907-1935 ; Description: Japanese language newspaper published in Korea during the Occupation Period (the official Japanese administration newspaper)
Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpo 臺灣日日新報 This link opens in a new window
PDF scans of issues: June 1896 [Meiji 29]-March 1944 [Showa 19].
Search interfaces are available in Chinese, Japanese, and English.
The database provides access to both Japanese (1898.5—1944.3) and Chinese editions (1905.7—1911.11) of the newspaper. User may select a language from the drop-off window at top-right corner for database interface (Japanese, Traditional Chinese or English), but search must be constructed either in Japanese or Traditional Chinese. Citations may be saved or emailed. Texts are in scalable PDF format. Note: be aware that downloading could be very slow.

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.