Library Guides: Humanities, General: Books

Catalogs

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Borrow Direct This link opens in a new window
UChicago faculty, students and staff can now borrow books and other circulating materials from the libraries of Ivy League universities and MIT.
UBorrow This link opens in a new window
UBorrow enables you to search for and request books directly from 15 major research libraries, with combined collections of more than 90 million volumes.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

E-Book Sources

Search for E-Books Using the Library's Catalog:

Find Ebooks available through Library sources.

See also the Library's guide How do I find e-books?

Other E-Book Sources (the contents of many available in the search above)

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
This database offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The books in these series survey scholarship on individual writers or other notable people, on schools of thought, and other topics. They serve as textbooks, as excellent starting places for research, and as scholarly works in their own right.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, a microfilm collection of 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. Includes books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera by well-known and lesser-known eighteenth-century authors.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Publicaciones en línea de la BNE

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.
Early European Books This link opens in a new window
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield.
We have access to Collections 1-6, and 12,
Collection 15: Revolution and Reformation: Science and Religion in the Early Modern Period
Collection 17: Statecraft and Law in Early Modern France
Collection 18: History & Chronicles from the Bibliothèque de l’Arsenal
Collection 19: Voyages & Imagination Travel
Collection 20: French Spiritual Life: Religious renewal in early modern France
Collection 21: Peace and Governance
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Gallica This link opens in a new window
Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Nineteenth Century Collection Online This link opens in a new window
The archives of Nineteenth Century Collections Online are presented in a modular, topic-specific format that enables libraries to customize and scale their holdings to meet a variety of collection development goals, research needs, and budgets. Four archives encompassing some 10 million pages will be released in spring 2012.
Sabin Americana Collection, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, forming a collection of over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Foreign Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Locate doctoral dissertations from countries other than Canada and the United States held at the Center for Research Libraries.

Book Reviews

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for the author and title of a work and then select "review" under the facet "format" on the left.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Book Review Digest is a reference database that provides review excerpts and book summaries for current English-language fiction and non-fiction books. Limit of 1 simultaneous user.
Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences
& more less...
Indexes reviews from listservs.

IBR Online This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

The following guide provides a fuller discussion:

How to Find Reviews (general guide)

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Finding Books

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.