Library Guides: Humanities, General: Journals

Locate Online Journals

UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Digizeitschriften - Deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv This link opens in a new window
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one- fourth of all titles), literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from as early as 1665.
Perse: Portail de revues en sciences humaines et sociales This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of French scholarly journals from the first issue until roughly 3-5 years before present. Free resource.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Gathers the volumes of Google-scanned journals into one record.
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.

Search the Ejournals Database

Search the E-Journals Database to see what periodicals are available online through the University of Chicago Library.

The E-Journals database does not search for articles. Rather, it looks through our various online resources to see what issues of a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine are available online. Then the E-Journals database will connect you to the specific resources that contain the full-text.

The E-Journals database only includes the Library's online subscription. For publications available in print or microfilm, online, you must search the Library Catalog.

You can access the E-Journals database by selecting the "Ejournals" tab listed within the box labeled "Search" on the Library's home page.

Searching the Database

Search By Publication Name

The default search option for e-journals is by title keyword.

Enter the title of the publication you are looking for (not the title of the article).

If there are similar titles, the E-Journals database will suggest options that that match your keywords.
If you find that you are receiving too many results, you may want to select the "Browse" option which will search for the exact title (skipping initial articles such as the, an, etc.).

Once you enter your search, the E-Journals database will list all of the different Library resources that contain issues of this publication in full-text.

Be sure to check the years that are available in each database. Depending on the publication, you may have several different full-text options available.

Select the best source for your needs. Be aware that some databases do not provide pdf full-text (which usually contains all images and tables). The Library often recommends using the full-text option from the publisher, or a stable pdf resource such as JSTOR.

By Subject

The E-Journals database also provides an option to browse journals by subject. Just click on the Subject Browse tab and select your subject and subfield.

The E-Journals database will then display all of the publications that fit that subject classification.

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search in the E-Journals database lets you search by both title and subject.

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Help Guides

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.