Library Guides: Humanities, General: Home

Quick Links

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text for over 4,500 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. Full text coverage is especially strong in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, and theology. In addition there are over 8,200 abstracted and indexed journals, over 7,000 of which are peer-reviewed.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
With citation linking
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
For citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Welcome

The Library's strong humanities collections support faculty and student research interests across many departments at the University.

Library News: Humanities & Social Sciences

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Subject Specialists

Art, Architecture, Cinema & Media Studies, History
Nancy Spiegel
JRL 463; 773-702-5193

Classics, Ancient Near East, Mediaeval & Byzantine, Linguistics
Catherine Mardikes
JRL 471; 773-702-2783

East Asia
Subject Specialists
JRL 525; 773-702-8436

English Language & Literature
Pending: contact Andrea Twist-Brooks
773-702-8776

Germanic and Scandinavian Languages & Literature
Brian Vetruba
612-625-8161

Latin American Studies
David Woken
773-834-3181

Religion, Philosophy & Jewish Studies
Anne Knafl
JRL 461; 773-702-8442

Romance Languages & Literature
Pending: contact Andrea Twist-Brooks
773-702-8776

Middle East
Marlis Saleh
JRL 563; 773-702-8425

Music & Dance
Pending: contact Andrea Twist-Brooks
773-702-8776

Religion, Philosophy & Jewish Studies
Anne Knafl
JRL 461; 773-702-8442

Slavic, Eastern European, & Eurasian Studies
Megan Browndorf
JRL 263; 773-702-8456

Southern Asia
Laura Ring
JRL 565; 773-702-2934

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.