Library Guides: Company Information: Financial Data

What Data Can I Find?

Public traded companies are required to disclose detailed financial information so that investors can make informed decsions.

Privately held companies are not required to disclose and therefore most figures for private companies are generally estimates.

Public Company Data

Mergent Online is the easiest source to use for finding company financials. It has the latest 15 years or quarters available and allows easy export to Excel.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Financial data, equity pricing, debt data and annual reports for publicly traded companies worldwide. Up to 15 years or quarters are available.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Stock, mutual fund and ETF screening tool that also includes reports from Morningstar analysts, company financials and insider and institutional holders data.
Accessible for five users simultaneously.
Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new window
Refinitiv Workspace brings together company information from a variety of sources that are produced by Refinitiv. This includes company financials and filings, mergers and acquisition data and analyst reports.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Includes COMPUSTAT, which has multiple years of company financials
WRDS is a web-based common interface to a collection of financial databases, including CRSP and COMPUSTAT.
Prowessdx This link opens in a new window
Covers companies in India
Registration is required. Click here to register
Prowessdx delivers data for over 40,000 Indian companies. This includes listed companies, unlisted public companies and private companies of all sizes and ownership groups. It contains time-series data since 1990.

Private Company Data

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook has a lot of data on private companies, including venture capital backing and private equity investments. It will have financial data when PitchBook has been able to source it.
Private equity and venture capital deal and investment information
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle has the most extensive coverage of US companies. Remember that figures are most likely estimates rather than actual.
Directory database that covers the U.S. and Canada. Screen by geography, revenue, employee size and more. Includes corporate linkage showing parent and subsidiary relationships.
Refinitiv Workspace This link opens in a new window
Workspace has a large universe of private companies, but the amount of information can vary. It links to venture capital funding, when available.
Refinitiv Workspace brings together company information from a variety of sources that are produced by Refinitiv. This includes company financials and filings, mergers and acquisition data and analyst reports.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Has international coverage of private companies.
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.