Law Databases

Publishes breaking news and analysis with a focus on major litigation across more than 35 practice areas. Users can set up email alerts by clicking in the upper right hand corner where it says, "University of Chicago Law S..."

ORIL is a current awareness service for alerts about new international law cases, with full texts of case-law, English translations, and expert analyses. We subscribe to the following modules: 1) Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts (ILDC); 2) Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law; 3) Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law; 4) Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction; 5) Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.

Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield.
We have access to Collections 1-6, and 12,
Collection 15: Revolution and Reformation: Science and Religion in the Early Modern Period
Collection 17: Statecraft and Law in Early Modern France
Collection 18: History & Chronicles from the Bibliothèque de l’Arsenal
Collection 19: Voyages & Imagination Travel
Collection 20: French Spiritual Life: Religious renewal in early modern France
Collection 21: Peace and Governance

The Encyclopedia is the definitive reference work on international economic law. This comprehensive resource helps redefine the field by presenting international economic law in its broadest, real-world context.

The role and character of Private International Law has changed tremendously over the past decades. With the steady increase of global and regional inter-connectedness the practical significance of the discipline has grown. Equally, so has the number of legislative activities on the national, international and, most importantly, the European level. With a world-class editor team, 500 content items and authorship from almost 200 of the worlds foremost scholars, the Encyclopedia of Private International Law is the definitive reference work in the field. 57 different countries are represented by authors who shed light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration. The Encyclopedia consists of three inter-linked pillars, enhanced by sophisticated search and cross-linking functionality. The first pillar consists of A-Z coverage of the scope and substance of Private International Law in the form of 247 entries. The second pillar comprises detailed overviews of the Private International Law regimes of 80 countries. The third pillar presents valuable, and often unique, English language translations of the national codifications and Private International Law provisions of those countries. This invaluable combination represents a powerful research tool and an indispensable reference resource. Currently the first 144 chapters of the Encyclopedia of Private International are live. New content will be added regularly over the next couple of months, with the full content being available by August 2017.

The Encyclopedia of Law and Religion, unique in its breadth and global coverage, provides an important foundational resource for study of these issues. The encyclopedia covers the relation between law and religion in its various aspects, including those related to the role of religion in society, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.

Brill database that includes "updated summaries of 300+ WTO/GATT panel, Appellate body, or arbitrator reports" and "indexes cross-referencing the reports by key word, article, country, subject, panelist, member, and more".

Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

MoML VI: FCIL is a legal history digital product containing treatises on international law, comparative law, civil and European law, and the history of law since Roman times. These legal treatises were published from 1600-1926 and are in English, French, German, Spanish, and other Western European languages. MoML VI contains classic works on international law by Gentili, Grotius, Vattel and others. It covers Ancient Law, Roman Law, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. It also includes monographs covering the law of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and other foreign jurisdictions

The Encyclopedia is a six-volume illustrated (B&W photos) interdisciplinary reference work with about 1000 articles on these and many other history of law topics. Picture of 6 volumes of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal HistoryThe Encyclopedia specifically covers eight areas of scholarly research interest: ancient Greek law; ancient Roman law; Chinese law; English common law; Islamic law; medieval and post-medieval Roman law; South Asian, African, and Latin American law; and United States law. And, within each area, these major categories of lawcontracts, torts, civil procedure, criminal law, administrative law, and constitutional law.

Contains the full-text of market-leading reference works and treatises published by the Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.

Collection of legal practice focused material on a variety of legal topics from the Practising Law Institute.

Includes two modules, online versions of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL/EPIL) and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro), on the Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) platform.

Available via HeinOnline
The English Reports (full reprint) was issued in 178 volumes. It contains over 100,000 cases from 265 separate series of Reports, arranged by Courts, from the years 1220 to 1867. Searchable by case name, keyword, English Reports citation and nominate citation. Also includes 11 volumes of the Statutes of the Realm, the laws of England from the 13th Century to 1713.

Includes international law yearbooks and periodicals, digests of U.S. practice in international law (Wharton, Moore, Hackworth, Whiteman), Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) decisions, and Moore's History and Digest of the International Arbitrations to which the United States Has Been a Party.

Official US diplomatic record. 1861-present. Some coverage of more recent declassified docs from foreign affairs agencies.

Multilingual and multinational, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal periodicals. Also analyzed are the contents of approximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congressional reports. An invaluable reference tool, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is noted for its broad coverage of legal journals and essays across jurisdictions and language boundaries.

Twelve e-journals including pre-2003 Common Market Law Review issues, Journal of International Arbitration, Journal of World Trade, and World Competition from the first volume to the last 4-5 years.

This collection of books, published by Brill, has been digitized for the first time and made available via HeinOnline. This series of more than 60 titles showcases
the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe.

Includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School, such as the 22-volume set Charles Szladits's Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law and An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by Allan Farnsworth.

Includes PDF downloads of the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), ICJ Reports, International Law Commission (ILC) and UNCITRAL yearbooks, reports of proceedings of UN law conferences, and other UN law publications.

United States treaties and other international agreements as published in U.S.T., T.I.A.S., Bevans, I.L.M., and related commentary and other secondary resources.

WCI collects current and historical constitutions for countries of the world in the vernacular and in English translation and in PDF format; constitutional-related documents, journal articles, periodicals, and major treatises; constitutional history.

Covering 1648 to the present, the World Treaty Library provides full-text searching across PDFs of the major treaty sources, including United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.), Martens' Nouveau recueil ge?ne?ral de traite?s, United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), and League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), as well as other related treaty publications, a bibliography, and law review articles.

Includes American State Trials, Thomas Howell's State Trials, trials of major war criminals, Nuremberg war crimes trials, famous cases, Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold and Loeb, Causes Celebres, and remarkable trials of all countries.

Includes books, book chapters, mini-monographs on public international law topics.