It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information about the law specific databases that students, faculty, and staff at the Law School have access to. Some resources are also accessible to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Chicago.
AILALink is an online research database created and maintained by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) and provides access to reliable and up-to-date immigration law information and guidance.
Gale Digital Collections gathers the raw data about crime, its solutions, and the popular response into one archive, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920. The archive's focus is on the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems: the long nineteenth century, a period of major social upheaval and technological development, from wars to the Industrial Revolution. Almost all aspects of society underwent transformation during this time, and the law adapted to these changes...Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce, such as Mary Fortune's 1871 The Detective's Album, a pioneering police procedural by a woman author, of which only two hard copies survive. Other material has been held in archives, often widely dispersed, and not always readily accessible to the researcher. Now such matter is digitized and carefully curated to present unparalleled opportunities for study, available all over the world.
News information service covering local government in the Chicago area.
ElgaronlineThis link opens in a new windowLaw books published from 2017 to 2019. Extensive coverage of law and economics, corporation law, constitutional law, environmental law, comparative law, European law, and international law.
Available titles are listed in the Library Catalog.
The Encyclopedia of Law and Religion, unique in its breadth and global coverage, provides an important foundational resource for study of these issues. The encyclopedia covers the relation between law and religion in its various aspects, including those related to the role of religion in society, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.
E&E's four daily online publications (ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire and E&ENews PM) are considered 'must-reads' by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy. ClimateWire tracks the politics and policy on climate change issues, both nationally and globally. ClimateWire is published at 8:00 a.m. and is designed to provide comprehensive, daily coverage of all aspects of climate change issues. E&E Daily and Greenwire both track environmental and energy issues. While E&E Daily focuses on environmental and energy legislation in the U.S. Congress, Greenwire covers how these issues play out in the courts, states and federal agencies. E&E Daily is published every day Congress is in session at 8:30 a.m. and Greenwire is published 5 days a week at noon, Eastern Time. E&ENews PM is published daily at 4:30 p.m., and brings late-breaking developments from Capitol Hill. Publisher's website
An environmental, natural resources, toxic tort, energy, health/safety, and land use law research tool containing original source documents, editorial summaries, and expert analysis on state, federal, and international issues.
Online version of Illinois Institute of Continuing Legal Education course handbooks. You can browse the list of titles or search by keyword, and print PDF files of relevant sections or chapters. Forms are usually included.
Use of this resource requires logging in with a University of Chicago IP address. To logon to a University of Chicago IP address remotely, please use the cVPN.
Contract and clause database with millions of contracts extracted from SEC filings and other publicly available documents. New documents are catalogued and indexed daily. University of Chicago users can sign up for a free account using their UChicago email address.
“This collection consists of the extant files of cases from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861. The 122 case files reproduced here include civil actions brought under both statute and common law, admiralty litigation, and a few criminal cases.”
Oxford Handbooks in Criminology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in criminology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Reference resource to help researchers understand the legal and political history of American constitutionalism. This collection contains an archive of both primary source materials and expert commentary that spans the colonial era and founding through the modern day.
Trends & Policy connects policies implemented by the U.S. government concerning immigration with the data-driven results and trends of those policies and provides context with analytical reports and news articles. This product includes timelines, topic pages, and data tools.
Requires creating an account while signed into the cVPN or on an on-campus computer using a UChicago email address.
The Tax Notes Research Platform provides access to tax-related analytical sources covering U.S. federal and state tax issues, as well as foreign and international tax issues. The database includes access to Tax Notes, the magazine, as well as State Tax Notes, Tax Notes International, and Exempt Organization Tax Review. It also includes full-text tax cases, statutes, regulations, and other primary sources.
The following Tax Notes publications are included on the platform (available at the orange "Publications" link at the top-right of the main page after you sign in),
Tax Notes, the magazine
Tax Notes State
Tax Notes International
Exempt Organization Tax Review
Tax Notes Today
Tax Today State
Worldwide Tax Daily
BEPS Expert (focusing on base erosion and profit shifting and the activities of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD))
FACTA Expert (focusing on the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act of 2010)
Transfer Pricing Expert
Exempt Organizations (a daily version of Exempt Organization Tax Review)
A unique web-based service for understandable, authoritative and complete information about the federal government - how it enforces the law, where it assigns its employees, and how it spends our money. Available to current students, staff, and faculty of the University of Chicago.
U.S. Law Week reports on the activities of the Supreme Court, those lower court decisions expected have a broad and significant impact on the law, and other noteworthy legal news items. The "Circuit Splits" feature highlights splits among different federal circuits.
Includes primary sources and secondary sources for antitrust, corporate and securities, banking, intellectual property, and tax law, including the Federal Securities Law Reporter, the Trade Regulation Reporter, Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Tax Treaties Reporter, and many other looseleaf services, treatises, guides, and newsletters.