This guide provides information about the law specific databases that students, faculty, and staff at the Law School have access to. Some resources are also accessible to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Chicago.
From the well-known provider of business and financial news data and includes in-depth legal analysis, filings, judicial opinions, real-time and archival news, and company and biographical information in a single, integrated database. Bloomberg Law includes customized Practice Centers for the following areas of law: Antitrust, Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy, Benefits & Executive Compensation, Corporate, E-Discovery, Health, International Trade, Labor & Employment, Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility, Patents & Trade Secrets, Privacy & Data Security, Securities, Tax, Tech & Telecom, and Trademarks & Copyrights.
Database of Chinese legal information, which contains all the laws and regulations, cases as well as other legal information promulgated by the Chinese central government and most of local governments since 1949. Publisher's Website.
ChinaLawInfo is the Chinese-language interface of this database. See also LawInfoChina, the English-language interface.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Gale Digital Collections gathers the raw data about crime, its solutions, and the popular response into one archive, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920. The archive's focus is on the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems: the long nineteenth century, a period of major social upheaval and technological development, from wars to the Industrial Revolution. Almost all aspects of society underwent transformation during this time, and the law adapted to these changes...Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce, such as Mary Fortune's 1871 The Detective's Album, a pioneering police procedural by a woman author, of which only two hard copies survive. Other material has been held in archives, often widely dispersed, and not always readily accessible to the researcher. Now such matter is digitized and carefully curated to present unparalleled opportunities for study, available all over the world.
More than 1.7 million data points. Unique domestic conflict event data for every country include: Assassinations, General Strikes, Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Purges, Riots, Revolutions, and Anti-government Demonstrations.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. Builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials; however, books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are not omitted from Early European Books where they form an integral element of the predominantly non-Anglophone collections that have been made available for digital capture. Full-colour, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts.--Catalog Record
The Encyclopedia is the definitive reference work on international economic law. This comprehensive resource helps redefine the field by presenting international economic law in its broadest, real-world context.
Gerhard Robbers and W. Cole Durham eds., Leiden: Brill, [2015- ]) - The Encyclopedia covers Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, Oceania, international organizations and special territories (e.g. Gibraltar, Greenland). Each article provides social facts, historical background, the position of religion in the legal system, individual religious freedoms, active religious communities, including legal status and labor law, and religious assistance in public institutions, legal position of religious personnel and members of religious orders, matrimonial and familial laws, religious and criminal laws, and country-specific issues.
The Encyclopedia of Law and Religion, unique in its breadth and global coverage, provides an important foundational resource for study of these issues. The encyclopedia covers the relation between law and religion in its various aspects, including those related to the role of religion in society, the relations between religion and state institutions, freedom of religion, legal aspects of religious traditions, the interaction between law and religion, and other issues at the junction of law, religion, and state.
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events. Sources include translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations.
Provides a searchable, browsable research environment that enables users to explore approximately half a million pages and over ninety years of research, expert analysis, and commentary published in briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and books. Users also have access to the full text of Chatham Houses two flagship publications: the leading academic journal International Affairs and the magazine The World Today. Additionally, the archive offers unique access to thousands of hours of audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.
"Fully searchable online database of more than 1000 judgments, constitutions and international instruments on the intersection between health and human rights." Produced by the Lawyers Collective and the O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown Law.
Contains English translations of laws from many jurisdictions, especially Canada, Australia, and European countries. You can do one Global Law Search or search individual country's laws via the Global Regulation Law Database Coverage Details page. The page also lists the total number of laws for each country or jurisdiction (including the European Union) and has a scope of coverage map.
GlobaLex is a free online legal publication comprising research guides, tools, and articles on foreign, comparative, and international law topics written by scholars, lawyers, and law librarians well known in their respective fields. GlobaLex has foreign legal research guides for over 100 countries, over 50 international legal research topics from the African Union to Human Trafficking to International Treaties to the United Nations, and guides to researching foreign law generally, African law, comparative family law, religious legal systems, and the law of Latin American countries. GlobaLex is published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
Include links to foreign primary law, legal research guides, and general country resources under "Nations of the World", international organizations under "International and Multinational", and the Indigenous Law Portal.
Brill database that includes "updated summaries of 300+ WTO/GATT panel, Appellate body, or arbitrator reports" and "indexes cross-referencing the reports by key word, article, country, subject, panelist, member, and more".
Available via HeinOnline
The English Reports (full reprint) was issued in 178 volumes. It contains over 100,000 cases from 265 separate series of Reports, arranged by Courts, from the years 1220 to 1867. Searchable by case name, keyword, English Reports citation and nominate citation. Also includes 11 volumes of the Statutes of the Realm, the laws of England from the 13th Century to 1713.
Includes international law yearbooks and periodicals, digests of U.S. practice in international law (Wharton, Moore, Hackworth, Whiteman), Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) decisions, and Moore's History and Digest of the International Arbitrations to which the United States Has Been a Party.
Multilingual and multinational, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal periodicals. Also analyzed are the contents of approximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congressional reports. An invaluable reference tool, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is noted for its broad coverage of legal journals and essays across jurisdictions and language boundaries.
This collection of books, published by Brill, has been digitized for the first time and made available via HeinOnline. This series of more than 60 titles showcases
the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe.
Includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School, such as the 22-volume set Charles Szladits's Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law and An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by Allan Farnsworth.
Includes PDF downloads of the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.), ICJ Reports, International Law Commission (ILC) and UNCITRAL yearbooks, reports of proceedings of UN law conferences, and other UN law publications.
WCI collects current and historical constitutions for countries of the world in the vernacular and in English translation and in PDF format; constitutional-related documents, journal articles, periodicals, and major treatises; constitutional history.
Covering 1648 to the present, the World Treaty Library provides full-text searching across PDFs of the major treaty sources, including United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.), Martens' Nouveau recueil ge?ne?ral de traite?s, United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), and League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.), as well as other related treaty publications, a bibliography, and law review articles.
Includes American State Trials, Thomas Howell's State Trials, trials of major war criminals, Nuremberg war crimes trials, famous cases, Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold and Loeb, Causes Celebres, and remarkable trials of all countries.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
ICLR is the authorized publisher of The Law Reports for the UK Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, and High Courts of England and Wales. In addition to case reports and summaries, ICLR offers access to UK legislation through integration with legislation.gov.uk. ICLR also includes a citator, a Briefcase function and print and PDF output options. Supreme Court and House of Lords judgments include a report of the arguments of counsel. Case coverage is from 1865 to present.
Cambridge Law Reports offers fast and easy access to key reports, including the content of the leading International Law Reports series. The database provides users with extensive search options and a unique browse feature to quickly find required content using variables such as keyword, the parties involved, judge's name, court or year of case. The database also includes a personal folder for saving key cases and searches, enabling users to go straight to the relevant information. Customisable alerts provide updates as and when new content is added in specific areas of interest.
The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online offers full-text searching across all archival content published in this renowned reference work over the last three decades. The Encyclopedia is the first broad, systematic and international compendium of comparative law. It incorporates not only detailed descriptions of the legal systems of more than 150 countries but, above all, thoroughly documented comparative analyses of the main issues in civil and commercial law and related issues world-wide.
Encyclopedia sets on 25 subject areas of foreign and international law: Civil Procedure, Commercial and Economic Law, Competition Law, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Partnerships, Criminal Law, Cyber Law, Energy Law, Environmental Law, Family and Succession Law, Insurance Law, Intellectual Property, Intergovernmental Organisations, Labour Law and Industrial Relations, Media Law, Medical Law, Migration Law, Private International Law, Property and Trust Law, Religion, Social Security Law, Sports Law, Tort Law, Transport Law).
A research tool in the area of investment treaty arbitration. ISLG contains rules, conventions, bilateral investment treaties, free trade agreements (including NAFTA), and arbitration decisions, all of which are cross-referenced.
Publishes news and analysis about international arbitration and international trade.
Publishes breaking news and analysis with a focus on major litigation across more than 35 practice areas. Users can set up email alerts by clicking in the upper right hand corner where it says, "University of Chicago Law S..."
Produced and maintained by Peking University, the database contains various kinds of Chinese law codes, regulations, interpretations, research articles, and other legal documents related to China. Resource Type: Combined Content Databases
LLMC is a non-profit cooperative serving member libraries' needs for preservation, space recovery, and collection development on film and online. In its first 27 years of operation, it filmed over 7,500 titles, some 90,000 volumes, of interest to researchers in law and history. Its backfile comprises the world's largest collection of legal literature and government documents in microform. That backfile, and future filming of some 10,000 volumes per year, are being made available for online access on this website.
- includes classic international law treatises (books/monographs), such as works by Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, and Wheaton; pre-1900s non-U.S. legal treatises, principally from Argentina, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherland, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland; and works comparing more than one legal system, and on Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law. Works are mostly in English and Western European languages.
MoML VI: FCIL is a legal history digital product containing treatises on international law, comparative law, civil and European law, and the history of law since Roman times. These legal treatises were published from 1600-1926 and are in English, French, German, Spanish, and other Western European languages. MoML VI contains classic works on international law by Gentili, Grotius, Vattel and others. It covers Ancient Law, Roman Law, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. It also includes monographs covering the law of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and other foreign jurisdictions
Collection includes regulations, session laws, journals, codes and commentaries of northern, central, and eastern European jurisdictions (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Great Britain, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland) with 50% of the collection in English. Sourced from the collections of the Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University Law Libraries. Collection also includes historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes, drawn from Spain, Portugal, Italy, Latin America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Analogous materials from canon law and Roman law are also included. Features important historical sources of world civil law and jurisprudence, as well as basic materials from a number of common-law jurisdictions.
Manupatra offers the full text of judgments from the Supreme Court of India and the state High Courts; colonial era cases; tribunal decisions; national legislation; commentaries on major laws; selected state laws; and government ministry regulations and guidelines, in areas such as human rights, foreign trade, commerce, and taxation.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law (MPECCoL) provides a high level of analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. MPECCoL articles address a focused range of topics that provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
Includes two modules, online versions of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL/EPIL) and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro), on the Oxford Public International Law (OPIL) platform.
Research resource comprising encyclopedia-type articles and annotated bibliographies on international law topics compiled by experts in the field. The bibliographies are "recommendations on the best works...whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set."
Contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual commentaries, supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws.
Oxford Handbooks in Criminology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in criminology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in law. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
"surveys contemporary research into Roman law and society. More than a guide to Roman law as a doctrinal system, it employs the full resources of contemporary legal history, from comparison to popular constitutionalism, from international private law to law and society."
edited by Stanley N. Katz, is the first encyclopedia of law to provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. A truly international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law. —Publisher's Website.
The Encyclopedia is a six-volume illustrated (B&W photos) interdisciplinary reference work with about 1000 articles on these and many other history of law topics. Picture of 6 volumes of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal HistoryThe Encyclopedia specifically covers eight areas of scholarly research interest: ancient Greek law; ancient Roman law; Chinese law; English common law; Islamic law; medieval and post-medieval Roman law; South Asian, African, and Latin American law; and United States law. And, within each area, these major categories of lawcontracts, torts, civil procedure, criminal law, administrative law, and constitutional law.
Investment Claims aims to publish all publicly available awards and decisions arising out of international investment arbitrations and related enforcement or review decisions from national courts. The collection includes over 300 arbitral awards, decisions, and determinations under the auspices of bodies such as the ICC International Court of Arbitration, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), and others.
ORIL is a current awareness service for alerts about new international law cases, with full texts of case-law, English translations, and expert analyses. We subscribe to the following modules: 1) Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts (ILDC); 2) Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law; 3) Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law; 4) Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction; 5) Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims.
contains "full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press. Books such as Oppenheim, Satow's Diplomatic Practice, the Oxford Handbooks in international law, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law are made available online for the first time, fully searchable and linked by the Oxford Law Citator."
Contains the full-text of market-leading reference works and treatises published by the Oxford University Press, including Oppenheim and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
The Provincial Statutes of Canada contain public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is available for Alberta, British Colombia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
Requires creating an account while signed into the cVPN or on an on-campus computer using a UChicago email address.
The Tax Notes Research Platform provides access to tax-related analytical sources covering U.S. federal and state tax issues, as well as foreign and international tax issues. The database includes access to Tax Notes, the magazine, as well as State Tax Notes, Tax Notes International, and Exempt Organization Tax Review. It also includes full-text tax cases, statutes, regulations, and other primary sources.
The following Tax Notes publications are included on the platform (available at the orange "Publications" link at the top-right of the main page after you sign in),
Tax Notes, the magazine
Tax Notes State
Tax Notes International
Exempt Organization Tax Review
Tax Notes Today
Tax Today State
Worldwide Tax Daily
BEPS Expert (focusing on base erosion and profit shifting and the activities of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD))
FACTA Expert (focusing on the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act of 2010)
Transfer Pricing Expert
Exempt Organizations (a daily version of Exempt Organization Tax Review)
includes the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), the League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS), Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (index, status of treaties, declarations, reservations), and other treaty-related publications.
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries. It is strongest for the law of the following countries: Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela, Portugal, Italy, the UK, Belgium, France, and the U.S.
This database provides access to about 500,000 entries on Chinese laws, government regulations, policies, interpretations as well as treaties, etc. These include not only such documents issued by the central government but also some by provincial and local governments and government agencies.
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Includes links to laws by country, subject, and law type (cases, statutes, treaties, constitutions), with a focus on common law jurisdictions; law journal articles; decisions of international tribunals; part of the Free Access to Law Movement (FALM).
provides searchable full text of GATT/WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports; WTO arbitration awards and decisions; Uruguay Round agreements; Tokyo Round agreements; Doha decisions/declarations; NAFTA Chapter 20 Panel reports; NAFTA and related legal instruments; Dispute settlement commentaries (DSCs) for awards and decision, and primary source documents related to international trade law.