How do I find Electronic Full-Text Sources (EFTS)

Cross searches:
Black Short Fiction and Folklore
Black Women Writers
Caribbean Literature
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Latin American Women Writers
Latino Literature
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
South and Southeast Asian Literature

Northern Illinois University

An electronic collections of full text American plays from the Colonial Period through to the present day.

Searchable full-text of film scripts by American author. Also includes detailed citations with information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

American Poetry contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.

Jean-Paul Marat's newspaper LAmi du peuple comprises nearly 700 issues published in octavo between September 1789 and September 1792. Most issues were eight pages long, though some issues stretched to twelve or sixteen pages. Pagination of the earlier volumes was somewhat irregularly organized, while every issue after number 70 is individually paginated. The collection contains more than 1.5 million words and nearly 50,000 unique word forms.

This digitization project has been carried out in conjunction with the New York Public Library, which provided the archival-quality page images of its seven-volume collection of L'Ami du peuple, and the Stanford University Library, which provided funds for data entry.
From their Website

Madeleine & Georges de Scudry's 17th century novel.

A collection of 14th- through 17th-century treatises on art and architecture, structured around Vasari's Lives of the Artists. Includes complete texts, illustrations, and notes by editors

Over 100 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.

The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trsor de la Langue Franaise) consists of over 2900 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.

38 collections of texts from the 12th and 13th centuries.

This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Asian American Drama uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Editions Bibliopolis

Online critical edition with full text searching and supporting material.. Produced by the Groupe International de Recherches Balzaciennes, ARTFL (University of Chicago), and the Maison de Balzac (Paris), Balzac. La Comdie humaine. Edition critique en ligne provides full text access to the critical edition of Balzac's Comdie humaine, based upon the text by Furne, Dubochet and Co, Hetzel and Paulin or what is commonly called the "Furne" edition, which was entirely controlled by the author and read by his contemporaries.

ditions Champion lectronique
Provides access to a digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, short stories) spanning the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Co-produced by the Editions Honor Champion and the CNED - Ministre de l'ducation nationale.

Chadwyck-Healey

Editions Bibliopolis

Online collection of 116 chapbooks from the 16th to 18th centuries.

Editions Bibliopolis

Full text of over 1400 plays by 233 African American playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Short stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors. Black Short Fiction (BLFI) contains approximately 760 stories and folktales by 19 African, African American, and Caribbean authors. When complete this collection should have approximately 8000 works of short fiction.

Over 400 sources by African American authors, including monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.

Fiction, poetry, and essays by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (BWLD) includes the immediate experiences of nearly 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.

Includes published memoirs, letters and diaries, drawn from more than 500 sources, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials, searchable by words and phrases, as well as by places, battles, dates, form of material, etc. Database also includes 1000-item bibliography and 1000 biographies.

A combined database containing all of EEBO-TCP plus the following CH databases: Early American Fiction, Eighteenth Century Fiction, Early English Prose Fiction, English Poetry, English Prose Drama, English Verse Drama, and Nineteenth Century Fiction. (UofC-Access Only)

Le Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue franaise contains the works of philosophers writing in the French language from the Renaissance to 1966.

Editions Bibliopolis. French literary and artistic criticism.

Agence Nationale de la Recherche. Full-text and page images of 67 volumes of degrees and laws.

The current release of the Digital Karl Barth Library features the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, originally published under the TVZ imprint. Among the works included in the Gesamtausgabe are hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. New content, including Barth's monumental Kirchliche Dogmatik, will be added on a quarterly basis.

Offers an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. Includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.

A uniquely valuable resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.

Early American Fiction, 1789-1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

Accounts describing exploration of North America or interaction between various cultural groups, 1534-1860. Texts may range from chapters or smaller sections of books to the entire corpus of the Jesuit Relations, of which 49 volumes are currently available in full text. The texts can be searched in a variety of ways, with special indexes for features such as date, peoples, flora and fauna, etc.

EEBO-TCP is the product of a fruitful partnership between industry and academia. ProQuest's commerical product, Early English Books Online (EEBO), contains the digital page facsimiles of about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. To accompany EEBO's page images, the Text Creation Partnership (TCP) is creating structured SGML/XML text editions for a significant portion of the EEBO works. The current database (30/03/06) contains 521.5 million words, 2.3 million unique forms, in 11,462 documents. For more project information, please visit the Text Creation Partnership Web site.

Early English Prose Fiction is a balanced and representative survey of fictional prose in English from the period 1500-1700, comprising more than 200 works. The collection explores the rich diversity of prose fiction preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.

Editions Bibliopolis

Editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. Contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works. Over 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction brings together 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. It is among the largest collections of literature from the period available in electronic form.

English Combo II indexes several Chadwyck-Healey English language databases with the texts of releases I & II of the Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP) . The Chadwyck-Healey databases include: Early American Fiction (eaf), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (ecf), Early English Prose Fiction (eepf), English Poetry 2nd Edition (engpo 2nd edition), English Prose Drama (epd), English Verse Drama (evd), Nineteenth Century Fiction (ncf), the Bible in English (bie), and Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare (eas). The PhiloLogic implementation of Combo II resides at Northwestern University and is offered together with their virtual normalizer.

Adding a further 20,000 poems to the original collection, English Poetry, Second Edition contains over 183,000 poems. Essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, its works are drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources and represent more than 2,700 poets. The newly-added works represent both the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and the poetic legacies of English writers only recently brought back to scholarly attention.

A collection of meticulously tagged poetic and literary texts curated by the Bibliothques Virtuelles Humanistes Project and hosted at ARTFL.

Prepared by Charlton Hinman and published by The Oxford Text Archive

La Correspondance littraire, philosophique et critique was a cultural newsletter distributed between 1753 and 1790. Written and produced most famously by Friedrich Melchior, baron von Grimm, the newsletter also included contributions from Denis Diderot and Madame dpinay. Grimm wrote the newsletter on a biweekly basis until 1773, when he ceded responsibility for its contents to his successor, Jacques-Henri Meister. The newsletter, copied by hand outside of France in order to avoid French censorship, was confidential, and Grimms very small subscriber base included a number of European nobles, among them Catherine the Great of Russia.
This digital edition is based on the 16-volume edition of the Correspondance littraire edited by Taschereau and Chaud and published by Furne in 1829.
From their Website.

This corpus represents a collaboration between the University of Chicago and The Project on the History of Black Writing (HBW) at the University of Kansas (https://hbw.ku.edu/). Since the project’s founding in 1983, HBW’s mission has been to identify texts that have been lost to history and advocate for their return, to promote the awareness of the works by African American authors, and to create opportunities for learning about and engaging them. One outcome of these efforts has been the collection of over 1000 well-known and lesser-known novels by African American writers, which are currently in the process of being digitized. This corpus represents about half of this collection (450 novels) and it will continue to be updated as the collection is digitized. A full list of the novels that will eventually be included in the corpus can be found here (https://hbw.ku.edu/novel-collections).
From their website

Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitalization Project

Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitalization Project

Texts by & information on authors from the 13th century to 1945.

109 volumes, 1751-1758

Alexander Street Press

From Alexander Street Press with the University of Chicago

Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitalization Project.

Works reflecting the diverse material and interests encompassed by the history of literary theory and criticism.

In addition to works written in English, the database includes works which were originally written in other languages but which have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world. All works in the database appear in English.

Among its contents, the database includes:

* formal treatises on criticism and aesthetics
* discourses on the character or practice of specific genres
* theories of imagination, genius and taste
* literary biography, criticism and literary history that expresses important general arguments and precepts
* literary prefaces and dedications
* rhetorical treatises
* poetry which expresses or implies rules of composition or standards of judgement
* theoretical works in disciplines other than English literature which have had a major influence on literary theory

Full text searching of Montaigne's Essais with page images from the Bordeaux Copy.

Nineteenth-Century Fiction collects 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Jane Austen, Sir Walter Scott, Mary Shelley, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Thomas Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.

Contains letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, of immigrants to the United States and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Includes 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of material, including some audio material.

Alexander Street Press with the University of Chicago (UofC-Access Only)

715 plays by 152 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Contains diaries and letters, dating from colonial times to 1950 drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.

According to the editor: North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 25,000 plays, nearly 28,000 people, 3,000 theatres, 12,500 productions and 1,500 production companies. Each year we'll be adding more than 20,000 new records to these files. The file also includes some 5,000 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

1849 vernacular texts, the majority of which date prior to 1375.

An electronic version of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses, and indexes. Although originally published in the 19th century, it still represents the only scholarly edition of many works.

Search Loeb editions.

Searchable Loeb editions

Editions Bibliopolis

Sixty-two complete works by the best known and most influential historians of the 19th century.

Editions Bibliopolis

Rousseau Online is a full-text, fully-searchable online edition of Jean-Jacques Rousseau's writings. Included are all of Rousseau's works as published in the Collection complte des uvres de Jean-Jacques Rousseau by Du Peyrou and Moultou in Geneva (1782-1789). Although some 400 letters are included, the major part of Rousseau's correspondence remains missing from this particular collection.

Alexander Street Press

Oxford University Press

Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Features content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Howard Becker, mile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jrgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy Smith, and Talcott Parsons.

Chadwyck-Healey

The "Textes de Franais Ancien" (TFA) database was established under the direction of Pierre Kunstmann at the Laboratoire de Franais Ancien (LFA, University of Ottawa), in collaboration with Mark Olsen (University of Chicago), who hosts and processes the data on the ARTFL Project server. The original collection was composed of texts from the 12th and 13th centuries, digitized for the preparation of a lemmatized database of Old French (project in collaboration with the former Institut National de la Langue Franaise, now ATILF). Middle French texts (14th and 15th centuries) have been added to this collection subsequently.

This collection is comprised of 456 French plays and other theatrical texts, containing more than 6.3 million words and nearly 70,000 individual word forms, from the period between 1617 and 1798. Molire, Corneille, Marivaux, and Voltaire are all represented here, as are lesser-known playwrights such as Gilles de Caux de Montlebert, Joseph-Franois Duch de Vancy, and Antoine Le Mtel dOuville.

The texts come to us essentially unmodified from the excellent French Thtre classique project, directed by Paul Fivre. The high quality of these digital editions allows for full-text searching in PhiloLogic that can be filtered by dates, section headings, and even individual speakers. One could, for example, search Molire's Le Misanthrope for every instance of Alceste's use of the word homme.
From

Editions Bibliopolis

This database brings you in fully-searchable form all of Voltaires writings. Included are all of Voltaires works apart from his correspondence, which can be searched separately, as part of the Electronic Enlightenment project (http://www.e-enlightenment.com/).

The Voltaire Foundation is currently publishing the Complete works of Voltaire in print the first definitive critical edition of his complete writings. An online version of this edition is planned sometime after 2018. In the meantime, this plain text version of Voltaires writings (without critical apparatus or notes) is the most reliable version available anywhere on the web.
From their Website

Contains works by more than 100 poets searchable by a number of fields, including keyword, first line or title keyword, and poet name. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.

Full text of more than 316 poets, including over 52,000 works.

Provides an overview of poetry written in the 20th century by both established and emerging writers.

When complete, the database will contain the full text of 2,000 plays by more than 100 playwrights from North America, together with detailed, fielded information on related productiions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, Twentieth Century North American Drama will contain the full text of 2,000 plays written from the late 1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.

Chadwyck-Healey

The Encyclopdie ou Dictionnaire raisonn des sciences, des arts et des mtiers, par une Socit de Gens de lettres was published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 72,000 articles written by more than 140 contributors, the Encyclopdie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment. The impact of the Encyclopdie was enormous. Through its attempt to classify learning and to open all domains of human activity to its readers, the Encyclopdie gave expression to many of the most important intellectual and social developments of its time.

L'Encyclopdie mthodique par ordre de matires par une Socit de gens de Lettres, de Savans et dArtistes, a t dirige par le libraire Panckoucke. Publie de 1782 1832, elle est divise en dictionnaires scientifiques. Forte de plus de 200 volumes pour une quarantaine de matires, comptant plus de 400 auteurs et graveurs, elle consiste dans une dition nouvelle et complte de l'Encyclopdie de Diderot et dAlembert dont Panckoucke se veut lhritier.

CYCLOPAEDIA, or, An Universal Dictionary of Arts and Sciences Ephraim Chambers (1680-1740). One of the first general encyclopedias to be published in English, Ephraim Chambers' Cyclopaedia (2 vols. published in 1728, with 2 supplement vols. in 1753) served as the primary inspiration for Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopdie which owed its inception to a French translation of Chambers' work begun in 1743 by John Mills and Gottfried Sellius.

Including Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Slater's Lexicon to Pindar (1969) and Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890) and the Perseus Encyclopedia; Harper's Dictionary of Classical Antiquities; Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites; Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities; Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography.

(Searches the following together)

• Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue françoyse (1606)


• Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. First Edition (1694)


• Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fourth Edition (1762)


• Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fifth Edition (1798)


• Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Sixth Edition (1835)


• Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Eighth Edition (1932-35)

Searchable dictionaries of South Asian languages.

This online version is a copy of the 1740 edition (5th Edition, Amsterdam, Leyde, La Haye, Utrecht; 4 vols. in-folio).

Including Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Slater's Lexicon to Pindar (1969) and Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890) and the Perseus Encyclopedia; Harper's Dictionary of Classical Antiquities; Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites; Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities; Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography.

Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon. Revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1940.