Designed as a gateway to the American Psychological Association's databases and designed for locating scholarly literature from the early 1800s to the present. It covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, technical reports, white papers, standards, policies, book reviews, and more.
Nursing and Allied Health Literature covers topics related to social work, public health, and mental health.
Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.
Provides the full-text of regularly updated systematic reviews.
Primarily focuses on health care topics (including mental health).
Includes full text of the regularly-updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews - regularly-updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and Protocols - protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics, DynaMed is an evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services.
Search for subject and evidence-based. For example, ptsd and evidence-based
Welcome to Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the “Accession Number” beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
A journal published by the British Psychological Society, the Royal College of Psychiatrists and BMJ.
Published by the British Psychological Society, the Royal College of Psychiatrists and BMJ. The Journal aims to engage psychiatrists and psychologists, particularly younger professionals, in the challenge of basing their practice on evidence.
Search for subject and evidence-based. For example, ptsd and evidence-based
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a variety of social service subjects.
From their website
Search for subject and "evidence-based". For example, ptsd and "evidence-based".
Brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of psychology topics. Each Handbook offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an argument for how those debates might evolve.
Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals,
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Since 1980, provides bibliographic coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes including citations to dissertations and book reviews.
Evidence-Based Practice Websites with Free Content
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Note: Within the "Advanced Search" option you may limit your search to "Show only results with free full text directly from ERIC."
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) Model Programs Guide (MPG) contains information about evidence-based juvenile justice and youth prevention, intervention, and reentry programs. It is a resource for practitioners and communities about what works, what is promising, and what does not work in juvenile justice, delinquency prevention, and child protection and safety.
The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is an evidence-based repository and review system designed to provide the public with reliable information on mental health and substance abuse interventions. All interventions in the registry have met NREPP's minimum requirements for review. The programs' effects on individual outcomes have been independently assessed and rated by certified NREPP reviewers.
Content is identified using a variety of methods, all follow the principles of evidence based medicine. TRIP works with the Department of Family Medicine at Laval University, Quebec, Canada to help identify and appraise sites using a directory that features over 100 critically appraised websites that mainly offer critically appraised topics (CATs) or original articles, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines (CPGs). –Contains some free content.
The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. All recommendations are published on the Task Force’s Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.
For more evidence-based websites see the following lists: