Library Guides: Medicine: Articles & Journals

Article Databases

Find articles using the databases below. If you find only a citation or an abstract in a database, click on the Find It! button to try and locate the full text. If you don't see a Find It! button, ask a librarian for assistance.

Additional databases can be found using the Database Finder.

Biomed Central Databases This link opens in a new window
A catalog of more than 1,100 sites covering a wide range of biomedical topics from Alzheimer disease to zebrafish anatomy. Some of the databases contain experimental data; others provide synopses of published information. Most of the databases are freely accessible.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of the regularly-updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews - regularly-updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and Protocols - protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature designed to support information managers and pharmacovigilance in complying with the regulatory requirements of a licensed drug.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
UpToDate Online This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a practical clinical reference comprised of thousands of original topic reviews which address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate performs a continuous review of over 270 journals and other resources.

Journals

E-Journals database This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines that are available online.

New England Journal of Medicine
JAMA Network
The Lancet
Full text from 1823 to the present
BMJ
JOMI
ScienceDirect
Journals published by Elsevier.
Journal abbreviations
& more less...
Search the NLM Catalog to find the full title from a journal abbreviation.

Citation Information

Finding citations to a particular paper or author

Using Web of Science to track citing references (Go to Web of Science)

Finding help with citing resources

AMA Manual of Style in Library catalog

Guide to citing resources

Finding citation measures for journals

Journal Citation Reports

SCImago Journal Rank - pdf (Go to SCImago)

Calculating an author's Hirsch index (h-index)

Finding an h-index in Web of Science (Go to Web of Science)

Using Google Scholar

Contact Information

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 154
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Find It!

When searching various Library and online sources, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.

Off-campus Access

Access most Library databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus by authenticating with your CNetID and password.

If you are not asked for a CNetID, use ProxyIt! to prompt authentication.

Medicine

Database Tutorials