Quick Links to Subscription Resources
- Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
- Africa Bibliography
- Africa Yearbook 8: Politics, Economy and Society South of the Sahara in 2011
- Africa-Wide Information
- Africa Knowledge Project
- allAfrica.com
- Aluka
- An African Biographical Dictionary
- Black Drama: African, African American, and Diaspora 1850 to Present
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora
- Black Women Writers: African, African American, and Diaspora
- The Cambridge Companion to the African Novel
- The Cambridge History of Africa
- A Dictionary of African Mythology
- Encyclopedia of Africa
- Encyclopedia of African History
- New Encyclopedia of Africa
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
- A Political Chronology of Africa
- South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989
Quick Links to Other Resources
- Africa Development Indicators (ADI)
- Africa: Regional Brief
- African Studies Companion Online
- BLDS Digital Library
- Database of African Theses and Dissertations (DATAD)
- SAHARA (Social Aspects of HIV/AIDS Research Alliance)
- South African History Online
- Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLI)
- Statistics in Africa
- Studying Africa
- The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Starting Points
- Africa South of the Sahara Extensive selection of Africa-related internet resources prepared by Karen Fung (African Collection, Stanford Libraries) for the ICTG, African Studies Association.
- African Studies Companion Online Annotated guide to information sources for African studies--web sites, bibliographies, biographical resources, guides to economic, financial and population data, guides to film resources, news sources for Africa, the African press, libraries with major African studies collections, awards and prizes in African studies, and other reference tools. Published by Hans Zell.
- African Studies Internet Resources Compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa. Created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.
- Encyclopedia of Africa Articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Kwame Anthony Appiah. Oxford University Press.
- New Encyclopedia of Africa Articles in anthropology, geography, history, and cultural studies by an international team of more than 600 distinguished Africanists (including over 150 from Africa and the African Diaspora). Features hundreds of photographs, including five color inserts, plus maps, thematic outline, chronology, and appendix of ethnic and identity groups. Edited by John Middleton and Joseph C. Miller. Thomson/Gale.
On and Off Campus
- African Studies at the University of ChicagoThe heart of African Studies at the University of Chicago is the workshop.
- Center for Research LibrariesNote African Studies information, the Cooperative African Microform Project's Guides to Collections, the guide to Dissertations, and holdings of newspapers. To use CRL material, place an interlibrary loan request through your library or make an appointment to visit their Reading Room.
- Melville J. Herskovits Library of African StudiesUniversity of Chicago students, faculty and staff may apply to use Northwestern’s libraries, and the Herskovits Library at Northwestern is the premier library in the country for African studies.
- Northwestern University's Program of African StudiesSponsors various events throughout the year.
- Commerce in Human Souls: The Legacy of the Atlantic Slave TradeExhibit in UIC LIbrary's Special Collections from October 5, 2012 through May 31, 2013.
- African Studies AssocationASA Annual Meeting held in November.
About the Collection
The Library supports teaching and research on sub-Saharan African topics. Acquisition of material published in Africa or (especially) in African languages is highly selective.
Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Chat: |
Your Librarians
For assistance with research on North Africa, please contact the librarians for the Middle East or the Ancient Near East.
For assistance with research on Sub-Saharan Africa, please contact Ellen Bryan or one of the librarians listed below.
Chris Winters: Bibliographer for Anthropology, Geography, and Maps
Paul Belloni: Bibliographer for Psychology and Human Development
June Farris: Bibliographer for Slavic and East European Studies and for Linguistics
Sarah Hogan: Bibliographer for Sociology, Political Science, Public Policy, and International Studies
Nancy Spiegel: Bibliographer for Art and Cinema and for History


Loading...
