African Studies

In-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic, and security developments.

Aggregates the reporting of 100+ African media organizations, including articles from AllAfrica reporters. Posts selected documents from governments and and non-governmental organizations.

Features key East African newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This growing collection initially includes three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).

More than 100 fully searchable newspapers published in Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Part of the World Newspaper Archive.

Founded in 1981, the Daily Observer is Liberia’s best-known, independent, national newspaper. Comprising over 35,000 pages, the Daily Observer Digital Archive (DODA) is a comprehensive archive of this title—published in English.

Die Transvaler was established in 1937 as a newspaper that would promote the cause of Afrikaner nationalism within the Afrikaner-dominated National Party...Die Transvaler was known for its racism, antisemitism, and opposition to South Africa’s entry into World War II...The Die Transvaler Digital Archive is a resource for scholars of African studies, history, politics, and media. It also represents a historical preservation project and may be of interest to institutions that study war, genocide, the Holocaust, and apartheid.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides fascinating insight into the second half of the 20th century. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this definitive online collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs providing full-text international news reports since 1931. A particularly useful source for foreign political and economic reports. 1931-