Library Guides: African Studies: Articles

Bibliographies and Indexes Focusing on Africa

Africa Bibliography
Tip: If unable to connect, try clearing cache & cookies or use incognito mode. From on campus, try connecting without going through the proxy.
& more less...
Lists recent works in African Studies principally in the social and environmental sciences, humanities and arts, and some items from the medical, biological and natural sciences. Published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.
Library subscription.
A Current Bibliography on African Affairs
& more less...
Quarterly bibliography includes original essays, book reviews, and citations for books, articles, government documents, and visual aids.
Library subscription.
Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography
& more less...
Open access journal of annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays.
International African Bibliography Online
& more less...
International and interdisciplinary specialist bibliography of African Studies. 1971- .
Library subscription.
African Studies Abstracts Online
& more less...
Quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities from the library of the African Studies Centre, Leiden.
AfricaBib
& more less...
Provides access to the Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database, the African Women's Database, and additional resources. Founded by Davis Bullwinkile at the University of Arkansas-Little Rock and continued by the African Studies Centre (ASC) in Leiden.
African Index Medicus
& more less...
International index to African health literature and information sources provided by the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with technical support from the World Health Organization.
African Journals Online (AJOL)
& more less...
Searchable database of African-published journals. Supported by INASP. Includes table of contents and article abstracts. Some full text is available but online access to most articles is fee-based.
Africa South of the Sahara: Index to Periodical Literature, 1900-1970
& more less...
Printed index with supplements covers material in the social sciences and material on African life and culture. Includes some articles from the 19th century and a literary index of about 3,000 African literary works.

Web dossiers
& more less...
Bibliographies from the African Studies Centre Leiden. Note the Library Weekly also.

Citation Trackers

Track where and how often an article or an author has been cited.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.

Literature Review Sources

Annual Reviews (Social Sciences Journals)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Many dissertations will include a review of the relevant literature.
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Article Databases
In some you may limit your results to Literature Review; in others search for your topic and literature review or review of the literature.

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic with literature review in the title or table of contents.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

HIV/AIDS, Stigma and Children by Harriet Deacon; Inez Stephney
ISBN: 9780796921888
Publication Date: 2008-06-01

Subject Specialist

Nancy Spiegel

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463

773-702-5193

Subjects: African-American Studies, Art, Architecture, and Photography, Arts, Cinema and Media Studies, History, Humanities, Medieval and Byzantine Studies, Social Sciences