This is the "Home" page of the "Middle East" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle East   Tags: arabic, egypt, iran, middle east, persian, turkey, turkish  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/mideast Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.

 

Find It!

When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

 

Purchase Request

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.

Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.

 

Welcome

The Middle Eastern collection in Regenstein Library is recognized by scholars throughout North America, Europe, and the Middle East as one of the premier research collections in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies in the world. The collection supports undergraduate, graduate, and faculty research and teaching in all disciplines of the social sciences and humanities including history, literature, language, religion, philosophy, bibliography, art, political science, anthropology, music, sociology, and film.

The collection, amounting to over one million items, consists of monographs, serials, microformat materials, lithographs, maps, films, photographs, video and audio tapes, DVDs, CD-ROMs, and electronic resources, covering the area between Central Asia and the Atlantic Ocean and from Asia Minor to sub-Saharan Africa. It includes materials in the principal languages of the Middle East—Arabic, Persian, Turkish, and their dialectical variants—as well as the relevant materials produced in various languages in North America, Europe, Japan, the states of the former Soviet Union, and elsewhere in the world.

For a fuller account please see the Middle East Collection Policy Statement.

Department Collections and Catalogs

Please consult a staff member in the Middle East Department office, JRL 560 (open Monday through Friday, 9AM to 5PM), for access to the Middle East Microforms collections, or contact Marlis Saleh in advance.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Marlis J. Saleh, Bibliographer
Contact Info
Regenstein Library Rm 563
(773) 702-8425
Send Email
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip