African Studies

Annotated guide to information sources--bibliographic, biographical, data, film, news, the African press, libraries, awards.

Selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.

Articles in anthropology, geography, history, and cultural studies plus photographs, maps, thematic outline, chronology, and appendix of ethnic and identity groups.

Articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.

A comprehensive, online research encyclopedia that will combine high quality, peer-reviewed scholarship with opportunities to deeply engage readers that would not be available in a traditional printed reference work. Articles will be based on the latest, most persuasive research in the field, and will incorporate audio, visual, and video materials, as well as links to digitized archives and other primary sources.

Comprehensive biographical database providing short biographical information on 3.6 million persons with a historical coverage. Digital facsimile articles from more than 2,300 reference works are also included for 1.3 persons.