Library Guides: United States News: Digital Newspaper Archives

About Digital News Archives

This guide provides access to a wide variety of subscription digital archives of news available via the University of Chicago Library. It is by no means a comprehensive list of digital archives of newspapers, nor does it include archives of newspapers in other formats, such as microfilm.

For help locating specific newspapers, please Ask a Librarian.

Find a Newspaper by Title

The Library has online access to newspapers in many different places. Search for a title here to locate online access.

Major U.S. Newspapers

PDF archives of major city and national newspapers published in the United States. ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows for text mining.

Chicago Daily News Historical Archive (1875 - 1978) This link opens in a new window
Chicago Sun-Times Historical Archive (1929 - 1985) This link opens in a new window
1986 - present available in Access World News
New Orleans Times-Picayune This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1990) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-2014) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1849-2011.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2011) This link opens in a new window
With the exception of publishing one religious article each day, The Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009) This link opens in a new window
The digitized pages of this historic newspaper (1841–2009) provide researchers from a range of studies, including history, political science, economics and genealogy, with reports on world affairs, national events and a record of regional topics related to agriculture, manufacturing, government and people from the dynamic viewpoint of a quintessential western boomtown.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999) This link opens in a new window
Scholars of labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry will find the Free Press a resource for insight on the birth of the Motor City, development of the United Automobile Workers (UAW) and auto manufacturing. Art and architecture.
The race riots of 1943 and 1967. The Detroit Tigers. Stevie Wonder and The Supremes. In addition to these defining characteristics of Detroit, the Free Press also provides the scoop on national and international events from a regional perspective, as well as detailed coverage of daily life in the community
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004) This link opens in a new window
The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier-Journal (1830 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
For researchers seeking an authoritative regional perspective on national and international events, as well as local perspectives on community news, the digitized pages of this newspaper (1830–2000) are a valuable resource in a variety of fields, including history, political science, African-American studies, genealogy and more
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001) This link opens in a new window
Early issues of the Star Tribune also document the rise of Minneapolis as a business hub, with coverage of growth in flour and graining-milling industries, culminating in the foundation of General Mills, Pillsbury and the Washburn-Crosby Company. Other regional topics that reflect national and internationals trends of the times include news about gangsters and bootleggers during Prohibition, as well as civil rights activities in response to anti-Semitism, backlash against the first major party Black candidate for the city’s mayor, and the establishment of the American Indian Movement for the advancement of Native Americans.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Nashville Tennesean (1812 - 2009) This link opens in a new window
Beyond major events covering nearly two centuries, including the state’s pivotal role in the American Civil War, and other national and international news, the digitized pages of The Nashville Tennessean (1812–2002) provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
(1865-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
Founded by Joseph Pulitzer as his first newspaper, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch provides valuable coverage of regional events such as the 1904 World's Fair and the completion of the Gateway Arch, as well as a uniquely Midwestern perspective of local, national, and international news.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Wall Street Journal beginning with the first issue in 1889 and continuing through 1992. Articles can be searched by keyword and issues can be browsed by date. Includes advertisements and full market information, including stock and bond prices, trading volume and index changes.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2005) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.

Historical Newspaper Databases

Databases that allow for searching a broad range of newspapers across geographic regions.

Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archives. Search for obituaries, marriage announcements, birth announcements, social pages, local sports action, advertisements, news articles, and more.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers together. Note that dates of coverage vary.
ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects This link opens in a new window
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of US & international newspapers that have been digitized.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences