United States News

More than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. state

Provides bibliographic citations and full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though many other minority groups are also included.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Full-text search is available for all content published over the course of each newspapers publication.
(From their website)

Reproduction of the originals from the Library of Congress. "A sampling of titles include: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel."

"The Rafu Shimpo (羅府新報, L.A. Japanese Daily News) is the longest-running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California....The Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive contains all obtainable issues of The Rafu Shimpo from 1914 on and includes an institutional subscription to rafu.com for full access to current issues."

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

Highly recommended, comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information.
Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Includes selected abstracts from research journals.

Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990.

Open access collection of newspapers published inside United States prisons.

The Daily Worker – with its weekly editions The Sunday Worker and The Worker – was the main press organ of the Communist Party of the United States of America (CPUSA). It was published between 1924 and 1958 and, at its peak, had a circulation of more than 30,000 copies.

Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: 1919 - 2013

Subject coverage
Historical local, regional and national news
Multidisciplinary