United States News

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Documents the African American press in the South from Reconstruction through the Jim Crow period. Written by African Americans for African Americans, the first-hand reporting, editorials, and features kept readers abreast of current domestic and international events, often focusing on racial issues.

The Atlanta Daily World is Atlanta's oldest continuously publishing black newspaper, and one of its oldest black-owned businesses.

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1910-2010

The Kansas City Call is a Black weekly newspaper founded in 1919 to provide news for the Black community. It is one of the Black newspapers in the U.S. covering civil rights issues and fighting segregation, discrimination, and other important issues of the African American community. The paper has a history of encouraging African Americans to register and vote and of covering many key Black issues including school segregation and urban development.

Coverage: 1919 - 2010

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1934-2005

This Detroit-based newspaper is essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts.

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Articles can be displayed individually or in a page map, which displays the article in its original context as printed on the page.

Full text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide. Coverage is 1911-2010.

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.--Catalog Record

Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).