Step 2: Searching for Law Journal Articles
Now that you have your search terms, you're ready to begin searching for published law journal articles on your topic. No single database contains every published journal article, so it's important to run searches in all of the databases listed below (including both Lexis and Westlaw).
Search tips
Use both keyword searching and subject searching when you can. (If you're not sure what the difference is, ask a law librarian!) When you find an article on your specific topic, be sure to mine the citations to find more relevant resources.
This seems like a lot of work...
Don't worry, with your list of search terms, running searches in multiple databases won't take long. And you don't have to read every word of every article in your results list. Skim titles and snippets for articles on your specific topic. If an article appears to be on point, skim the introduction, main headings, and conclusion. As you run more searches, you'll be able to skip over articles that you've already looked at and focus on the new results.
Key Databases for Law Journal Articles
- Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new windowUse the "Law Reviews & Journals" database (available under "Secondary Sources") to search U.S. and Canadian law reviews, bar journals, and continuing legal education materials, from the 1980s - present (coverage varies by journal).
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowUse the "Law Reviews and Journals" database (available under "Browse" > "Secondary Materials") to search U.S. law reviews from the 1980s - present (coverage varies by journal).
- HeinOnline: Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowThis database is especially useful for finding older articles. Search over 2,000 law journals from volume 1 to present (most recent issue often not included).
- Google ScholarSearch scholarly literature from web pages, publisher web sites, professional societies, and some article databases. Good for performing a broad search across disciplines, but may include many sources that are not relevant for your topic. Recommend using as a final sweep after searching in more focused databases listed above.
