Library Guides: HIST/HIPS 29678 Medicine and Society Colloquium: Newspapers

Major U.S. Newspapers - Historical

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers in one place.
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers together. Note that dates of coverage vary.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1990) This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune, 1849 - Present This link opens in a new window
Major Chicago daily newspaper.
Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
Leading American source for news and opinion during the middle years of the 19th century. From Finding Aids, select a Topic to see lists of subjects.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) This link opens in a new window
New Orleans Times-Picayune This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) This link opens in a new window
(1865-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Wall Street Journal beginning with the first issue in 1889 and continuing through 1992. Articles can be searched by keyword and issues can be browsed by date. Includes advertisements and full market information, including stock and bond prices, trading volume and index changes.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2005) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1877 through 1993.

Other Databases For U.S. Newspapers

For articles from newspapers that are no longer published, weekly newspapers, or specialized newspapers, search the following databases.

Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects This link opens in a new window
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of US & international newspapers that have been digitized.

More Newspapers

Find more information at the How Do I Find Newspapers? guide.

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
History of Science, Medicine and Technology Librarian
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Email Andrea

Nancy Spiegel
Bibliographer for History
Room 463
773-702-5193
Email Nancy

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Catherine Uecker
Head of Research and Instruction (Special Collections)
Regenstein Library, Special Collections Research Center, Rm 130
773-702-8711
Email Catherine