Current Exhibit
The Fetus in Utero: From Mystery to Social Media
Exhibition Dates: January 2–April 12, 2019
Location: Special Collections Research Center Exhibition Gallery, 1100 East 57th Street, Chicago, IL
Finding Aids
Archival collections are available to students for use in research. Archival collections contain all sorts of materials, including (but not limited to) letters, manuscripts for published or unpublished materials, programs for events, notes for speeches, reports, official documents, etc. Users discover materials available in archives through the use of a finding aid, a kind of descriptive list of materials organized typically into boxes and folders. You can browse and search finding aids for the University of Chicago's Special Collections Research Center at https://www.lib.uchicago.edu/scrc/finding-aids/.
To locate collections of interest at other institutions, use a search engine to search "finding aid" and the name of a person, organization or other entity of interest. Finding aids include not only a description of the collection, but usually have contact information or other details about accessing the materials in the collection. Some archival collections may be partially or completely digitized, but be aware that often you will need to visit in person to use a collection.
Selected Archives in Medicine at University of Chicago
- Herrick, James Brian. Papers, 1886-1953James Brian Herrick, physician. The James Brian Herrick Papers include Herrick's autobiography, Memories of Eighty Years, publications and professional correspondence. The collection also includes off-prints, photographs and memorabilia, especially from his internship at Cook County Hospital, treatment and billing records of his patients, and miscellaneous books and notes.
- Fantus, Bernard. Collection, 1874-2009The Bernard Fantus Collection primarily consists of correspondence, photographs, professional documents, biographical materials and newspaper clipping focused on the life and death of Bernard Fantus. Also contained within the collection are articles and newspaper clippings about blood banks and the Cook County Medical Center.
- Schwartz, Samuel. Papers, 1940-1997Dr. Samuel Schwartz (1916-1997) was a renowned expert on porphyrins and heme metabolism, pioneering research into the biological effects of radiation, starting when he joined the Manhattan Project at the University of Chicago.
- ACT UP Chicago. Records, 1969-1996ACT UP Chicago was a grassroots, direct action, activist group formed to bring attention to the AIDS crisis. The group also agitated for increased AIDS funding and research, as well as protection of the rights of people with HIV/AIDS
- Native American Educational Services. Subject Files, 1950-2005This collection contains files collected by the Native American Educational Service on a variety of organizations and issues. Topics include language, alcohol abuse, violence prevention, poverty, citizenship, civil rights, crime, welfare, Native American heritage and language, land rights, healthcare, casinos, education, and political activism.
- Illinois Society for Medical Research. Records, 1895-1975The Illinois Society for Medical Research was organized in 1951 by doctors, biologists, and researchers to educate the public on the benefits of medical research, particularly on the necessity of animal experimentation. The Society Records contain correspondence, research manuscripts, manuscripts concerning legislative campaigns, printed matter, and newspaper clippings.
Contact Information
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
History of Science, Medicine and Technology Librarian
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Email Andrea
Nancy Spiegel
Bibliographer for History
Room 463
773-702-5193
Email Nancy
Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb
Catherine Uecker
Head of Research and Instruction (Special Collections)
Regenstein Library, Special Collections Research Center, Rm 130
773-702-8711
Email Catherine