Library Guides: HIST/HIPS 29678 Medicine and Society Colloquium: Articles

Article indexes

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers Medline 1950-current. Limit your subject search using the "history" subheading (e.g., "surgery/history [MESH]" retrieves articles in the history of surgery.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Includes Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online, along with full-text resources, for integrated bibliographic coverage of books and official publications, archives, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. Years of coverage: 1790-1919.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource can be helpful in finding connections from specific articles or books to other scholars' related works using cited reference searching functionality
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Wellcome bibliography for the history of medicine
Online archives of the bibliography cover 2000-2004. Coverage of more recent years through the Wellcome Library Catalogue http://catalogue.wellcome.ac.uk/, which contains article/chapter references. Earlier years (1954-99) in print "Current Work in the History of Medicine" in Crerar Library 1st Floor Reference Z6660.C94

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Discover articles published in journals and other publications from 1955 to present on world history (excluding US and Canada) since 1450. Includes history of medicine and related subject areas.
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
History of Science, Medicine and Technology Librarian
Regenstein Library Room 181
773-702-8777
Email Andrea

Nancy Spiegel
Bibliographer for History
Room 463
773-702-5193
Email Nancy

Deb Werner
Biomedical Reference Librarian
Crerar Library Room 127
773-702-8552
Email Deb

Catherine Uecker
Head of Research and Instruction (Special Collections)
Regenstein Library, Special Collections Research Center, Rm 130
773-702-8711
Email Catherine