Finding maps online
Many map collections and organizations have maps available to search, view, and download. The resources on this page are a starting point for anyone wanting to find maps outside of UChicago.
Interlibrary Loan
Other institutions can send high-quality scans of maps through Interlibrary Loan. Search World Cat, a global catalog of library collections, to find maps not available at UChicago.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest books, journals, articles, dissertations, and other circulating material from libraries worldwide.
- WorldCat.orgThe freely available version of the OCLC online catalog that contains over 43 million records. Search WorldCat.org to find resources in a library near you.
Map libraries and collections
- History of Cartography's Guide to Map CollectionsLibraries, archives, and other repositories with map collections.
- Newberry Library Maps, Travel, and ExplorationA collection for the history of travel, with strong coverage of Europe and the Americas from the 16th to the 20th century.
- Library of Congress Geography and Map DivisionThe largest and most comprehensive map collection in the world.
- David Rumsey collectionLarge collection of early maps available to view and download.
- American Geographical SocietyMaps available for viewing online and aerial photography available by request. Based out of the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA comprehensive guides to maps online and in other collections.
Chicago, Illinois, & Great Lakes area maps
- Chicago History MuseumHoldings consist of more than 10,000 maps and atlases with a focus on Chicago and Illinois.
- Illinois Secretary of State: MapsThe Illinois State Library is the 5th largest in the U.S. and has more than 5 million items, including geographical books and journals, gazetteers and atlases, reference books and carto-bibliographies, and more than 190,000 maps and 80,000 aerial photos.
- Illinois Geologic Survey MapsISGS produces a variety of maps including coal maps, a variety of geologic maps, and an Open File Series.
- Illinois air photosUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; includes air photos of Cook and Will Counties in the 1930s.
- Chicago Dept. of Transportation MapsAir photos, plat maps, and structure base maps.
- Historical maps of Illinois and the Old NorthwestUniversity of Illinois; includes older Illinois topos.
- Chicago Zoning OrdinanceInteractive map for zoning and land development in Chicago.
- Northwestern UniversityA great resource for finding Illinois and Chicago maps that UChicago may not own.
Historic maps
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of IllinoisSanborn maps showed building details for insurance information. Access to these maps is limited to on campus or VPN connections.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (Library of Congress)This resource is not comprehensive but helpful for viewing and using Sanborn maps in research.
- Civil War mapsA Library of Congress Collection of 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks depicting battles, troop positions and movements, engagements, and fortifications.
- New York Public Library: Charting AmericaA great resource for early American maps available for free download.
- Old Maps OnlineZoom into or search for an area to find old maps available online.
- Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMo) This link opens in a new window
Geologic & environmental maps
- USGS National Geologic Map DatabaseFind geologic and historic topographic maps for the U.S. Also includes a catalog of more than 100,000 maps and stratigraphy information.
- The National MapBest for finding current U.S. topographic maps.
- USGS TopoViewAccess historical topographic maps of the United States from 1880 to 2010.
- National Park mapsIncludes maps of the U.S. National Parks System, trail maps, and the American Revolution.
Global & foreign country maps
- ChizuOld Chinese maps from the Document and Information Center for Chinese Studies, University of Kyoto [requires DjVu plug-in].
- Historic citiesDept. of Geography, University of Jerusalem, and Jewish National and University Library; many early urban views.
- UrbanRail.netUrban Rail Maps for major cities around the world.
Specialist
Sam Brown
Map Assistant
JRL 370
(773) 834-3347
sbb@uchicago.edu
