Welcome
Use this guide for information about finding maps at UChicago and other online sources.
Getting started
Finding maps at UChicago:
- What's in the map collectionThe map collection has 475,000 maps, 10,000 air photos, and 2000 books. Use this page to learn more about what maps we own.
- Collections & Exhibits OnlineOnline exhibits and index maps from the UChicago Map Collection. The maps are available to view and download.
- The Historic Towns Atlas program, and holdings in Regenstein Library, University of ChicagoBibliography compiled by Michael P. Conzen and Diana Rehfeldt.
Finding maps in other collections:
- Sanborn Geography, 1867-1970 : Illinois This link opens in a new windowDatabase requires UChicago login. provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of American towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates
- Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMo) This link opens in a new windowHigh-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionA comprehensive guides to maps online and in other collections.
- Old Maps OnlineZoom into or search for an area to find old maps available online.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionA collection of over 150,000 maps that focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
More about maps at UChicago
Specialist
Sam Brown
Map Assistant
JRL 370
(773) 834-3347
sbb@uchicago.edu
