Library Guides: Doing Research in Other Libraries & Archives: Home

Starting Points

Below are some databases to identify collections or works at other libraries and archives.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Locate books and other items at libraries around the globe. Click on “Libraries Worldwide That Own Item” for specific locations.
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Part of Nineteenth Century Index. Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the US; National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections; and National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States, with finding aids from 300 U.S. repositories.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

The Library has agreements with many different libraries for access, and occasionally borrowing privileges. View a complete list of access and reciprocal borrowing agreements with other institutions. Here are a few examples:

Borrow Direct Plus (Ivies Plus Institutions)

Check out books directly from Ivies Plus institutions (Harvard, Yale, Columbia, MIT, etc.)
Northwestern University Library

Access and borrowing privileges available.
Hyde Park Seminaries

Access and borrowing privileges available.
University of Illinios at Chicago (UIC)

Borrowing privileges only for faculty.

Did you confirm that our Library doesn't have the item(s) you need? If you aren't sure, our Librarians can help.
Can you obtain items via the University of Chicago Library’s lending services?

Identification
- UChicago ID card
- Government-sponsored ID (Passport, Driver’s License, etc.)
Proof of need (required by some institutions)
- Letter from your advisor (on University letterhead)
- Prepared statement about your research

Libraries may only be open to researchers, not for study space
You will be unlikely to check out materials (with the exception of partner libraries)
Not every library includes all of their collections in their catalog
Not every database to which a library subscribes will be available to visitors
Many libraries have "closed stacks", meaning that you have items paged in advance
When in doubt, don’t be afraid to use the library's or archive's reference (Ask a Librarian) services

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences